Brill, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Buckinghamshire
Buckinghamshire Parishes
Brill

Guide to Brill, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brill, Buckinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ashendon
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bicester; Thame
Registration District Bicester; Thame
Records begin
Parish registers: 1586
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waddesdon
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

BRILL, a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in the district of Thame and county of Bucks, 3½ miles S of the Julian way, and 7 NNW of Thame r. station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Brill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1600-1844
1600-1903
1600-1934
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1813-1833, 1834-1844
1813-1833, 1834-1837
1813-1833, 1833-1844
FS Catalog PRs
1586-1884
1586-1884
1586-1884
FS Catalog BTs
1600-1844
1600-1844
1600-1844

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Brill on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date Accessed and adapted 28 May 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk