Brigstock, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Brigstock, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Thrapston|
|Parish registers: 1641|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1707|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BRIGSTOCK (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Thrapston, hundred of Corby, N. division of the county of Northampton, 22 miles (N. E.) from Northampton.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Brigstock, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)|
|AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|Brigstock, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Slawson, Daphne. The Wreck of The Zenobia. History and family tree of Joseph and Sarah Ayers Slawson and letters from Kingston on Thames, Surrey. Photo of Slawson Family at Brisbane, Australia 1900, also reports of the fatal boat accident. Article dates 1677-1897, and is found in The Hampshire Family Historian vol. 16, part 1, May 1989, pages 10-14, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 31 December 2013.
- 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
- 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
- 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.