Brighouse, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Brighouse, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes A-I
West Riding of Yorkshire
Brighouse

Guide to Brighouse, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brighouse, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morley
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Halifax
Registration District Halifax
Records begin
Parish registers: 1831
Bishop's Transcripts: 1841
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Chapel History

BRIGHOUSE (St Martin), a village and a chapelry in Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse township, Halifax parish, and a subdistrict in Halifax district, West Riding Yorkshire. There are two places of worship for Methodist. [1]

BRIGHOUSE, an ecclesiastical district, in the township of Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse, parish and union of Halifax, Upper division of the wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 4 miles (E. by N.) from Halifax; containing 3200 inhabitants.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Brighouse exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
 BRIGHOUSE CHAPELRY (1701) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1842-1903

1780-1906

1701-1930

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Brighouse Chapel and comprising the whole ancient parish of Halifax to which it was attached, be certain to see the "Comprehensive List of Halifax's chapels and District Churches" link at the top of the Halifax St John the Baptist page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, also use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-72)
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-375. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.