Bridgerule, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Bridgerule, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Holsworthy|
|Parish registers: 1702|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
|Part of this parish is in Devon. See also Bridgerule, Devon.|
BRIDGE-RULE, a parish, in the union of Holsworthy, partly in the hundred of Black Torrington, Holsworthy and N. divisions of Devon, and partly in the hundred of Stratton, E. division of Cornwall, 4 miles (W.) from Holsworthy. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.
The Ecclesiastical parish of Bridgerule is also partly in the county of Devon.
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bridgerule parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|BRIDGERULE PARISH Online Records|
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks.
Overview, If there is any unique information information, such as the census for X year was destroyed, Collection in FHL and link to catalog, Online sites
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdication. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
- Vision of Britain
Bridgerule in GENUKI