Bridewell Chapel, London Genealogy
London Bridewell Chapel ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bridewell Chapel, London|
|Hundred||London, Without the Walls|
|Poor Law Union||West London|
|Registration District||West London|
|Parish registers: 1667|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1665-66; 1813|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|London Record Office|
Bridewell Hospital Chapel.
'This precinct, or area surrounding a place of worship, contained the Bridewell Chapel and Bridewell Royal Hospital. Bridewell Chapel was united with St Bride, Fleet Street in 1864.'
'Bridewell Chapel, is an antient, and was formerly a Royal Chapel; for this spacious Court was antiently the Royal Palace of King John, in 1210, and other Kings of England, where the Parliaments sate; and here King Henry Eighth most magnificently entertained the Emperor Charles the Fifth, King of Spain, and his own Nephew, Anno 1522; but King Edward, the 6th gave it to the City of London, to be an Hospital, or Workhouse for Loyterers and lazy Persons. This Chapel, as well as that of the Fleet, belong to the Verge of the Parish of St. Bridget. Prayers and Sermons only on Sundays, at 10 and 2 of the Clock.'
There was a prison at Bridewell from the late 1600s to 1855. Many felons tranported to the American colonies in the eighteenth century were held at Bridewell Prison as they awaited their ships' departures.
Websites(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- London Family History Centre Catalogue
- Bridewell Prison and Hospital (London Lives)
- Records of non-parochial Anglican churches and chapels, Anglican Churches, Chapels and Parishes, Guildhall Library Manuscripts Section.
- John Hanson, 'Introduction,' City of London Burials, accessed 7 January 2012.
- W. Stow, Remarks on London, Being an Exact Survey of the Cities of London and Westminster, Borough of Southwark (London, 1722). Digitized by London Ancestor.
- Wikipedia contributors, 'Bridewell Palace,' in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bridewell_Palace, accessed 7 January 2012.
- London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bridewell Chapel in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bridewell Chapel in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bridewell Chapel in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bridewell Chapel in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- Batch C021111, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish registers.
- "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- "Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches," British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
- John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm