To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bremsnes Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bremsnes, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Bremsnes Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Kvernes
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Kvernes
Fogderi Nordmør
Sorenskriveri Nordmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

See Kvernes clerical district.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Kvernesclerical district was taken by the local civil authorities includes the parishes of Bremsnes, Kristiansund, Bornstad, Eide, Grip, and Kvernes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Nordmøre deanery is available on line at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Sogneprestens manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Kvernes clerical district was taken by the local parish priest and includes the parishes of Bremsnes, Kvernes, Kornstad, and Grip; an is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Nordmøre prosti is available online at Digital Archives and part 2 at Digital Archives.
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census forKvernes clerical district includes the parishes of Kvernes, Bremsens, Kornstad, Eide, Grip, Gjemnes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also avaialble online at Digital Archives.
  • The 1801, 1818-1819, 1825, 1835, 1845, 1855 and 1865 censuses for Tingvoll clerical district, which at this time included these parishes: Tingvoll, Straumsnes, Øre, Halsa, Frei, Kvernes, Bremsnes, Kornstad, Eide, Stangvik, Gjemnes and most of Nesset parish. Some parishes gives statistical information only; while others list the farm name, persons name, age, position in the family, and occupation.  Available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen 1825, 1835, 1845, and 1855 for Kvernes prestegjeld (Møre og Romsdal). Census records for Kvernes, Tingvoll, Surnadal, Stangvik, Sunndal, Kristiansund, Edøy and Aure clerical districts. Includes mainly statistics, but the censuses for Kvernes 1825 and 1855 gives the name of the farm, persons name, age, occupation and some miscellaneous information.  Available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen for Norge den 31te desember 1865 . The 1865 census for Kvernes clerical district includes the parishes of Eide, Gjemnes, Kvernes, Kornstad, Bremsnes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digital Archives.
  • Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875. The 1875 census for Kvernes clerical district include the parishes of Kornstad, Eide, Bremsnes, Kvernes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900. The 1900 census for Kvernes include the parishes of Kornstad, Eide, Bremsnes, Kvernes and is avaialble on microfilm at the Family History Library. 1900 census for Bremsnes is available online at Digital Archives.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

57 Aakviken,

72 Ba, 67 Bahaugen, 52 Bakken, 53 Bisgaarden, 43 Bjørnvik, 68 Bjørshol, 62 Bogen, 38 Bolgen, 86 Breiviken, 52 Bremsnes,

31 Dale, 54 Djupmyren, 52 Dybbugt, 69 Dyrset,

57 Ekkilsøen, 56 Ekkilsømyren, 70 Elvehaugen, 46 Engviken,

77 Flatset, 47 Fossviken, 65 Fransvaag, 45 Fugløen, 79 Furøen,

57 Gaarden, 32 Gløsvaag, 52 Grønbugten, 58 Grønvik,

40 Hansøen, 85 Hasløen, 85 Hasløsæteren, 64 Haukaas, 78 Hennen, 48 Hestvik, 63 Hjelset, 70 Hol, 81 Honningsøen, 71 Hoset,

60 Ingeborgvik,

74 Kalvøen, 52 Kirkevaagen, 57 Kleven, 51 Klubbugten, 83 Krabvaagen, 50 Kriltrøen, 49 Kristvik, 54 Krokan, 32 Kvitneset,

52 Langneset, 82 Langøen, 73 Leitet,

55 Naustvold, 73 Nekstad, 70 Nertrøen, 50 Neset,

44 Oldenborg, 33 Omsund, 46 Otterbækken,

80 Ramsøen store, 50 Rausand, 37 Rensvik, 59 Rosvaag,

53 Sjøledet, 67 Skaret, 52 Stavneset, 47 Stensviken, 53 Strøm, 78 Stølen, 75 Sunde, 35 Sæteren, 76 Søfstad, 66 Sørvik,

72 Trøen, 54 Trøhaugen, 72 Trøvolden,

36 Ulrikskvern, 84 Uran,

57 Vaagen, 39 Valen, 41 Valholmen, 42 Vasteinsvik, 67 Vebenstad, 52 Vorpbugten,

34 Ødegaarden, 54 Ødegaarden, 61 Øien, 52 Øksenvaagen

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1668-1877: Probates are found in Nordmøre judicial district.

1697-1812: Clerical probates are found in Nordmøre Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names