Breconshire, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Breconshire Genealogy)
Jump to: navigation, search
Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources
Wales
Breconshire

Guide to Breconshire, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Historic Breconshire

Wales Traditional Breconshire

Breconshire, formerly Brecknockshire (Welsh: Sir [county or shire] Brycheiniog) named for the 5th century Celtic king Brychein.  One of the original thirteen historic counties of Wales, it was created following the Act of Union of 1535, bounded to the north by Radnorshire, to the east by Herefordshire (England), to the south-east by Monmouthshire and Glamorgan, and to the west by Carmarthenshire and Cardiganshire.

The administrative county of Breconshire, with an elected county council, was created in 1889 by the Local Government Act of Wales. The elected county council took over the functions of the Quarter Sessions courts. The county town was Brecon (Welsh: Aberhonddu [mouth of the river Honddu]).  Since 1974 Breconshire is an administrative region of  the County of Powys.

Chapman Code: BRE

1974-1996 Powys

Powys 1974

Under the Local Government Act 1972, the county and administrative county of Breconshire were abolished, for both local government and ceremonial purposes, on April 1, 1974. Most of Breconshire became part of the newly formed county of Powys although some communities in the south of the county became parts of the newly created counties of Mid Glamorgan, and Gwent.

Modern Powys

Modern Powys

The situation remained mainly unchanged following further local government reorganisation in 1994. However, small parts of the former county of Breconshire joined the newly created counties of Rhondda Cynon Taf and Monmouthshire.

Parishes

See a list of the parishes in Breconshire with links to their pages. Interactive map of Anglesey Parishes.

Topics

Websites