Breaston, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Breaston, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Derbyshire
Derbyshire Parishes
Breaston

Guide to Breaston, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Breaston, Derbyshire
Breaston St Michael Derbyshire.jpg
Breaston St Michael Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ockbrook
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Sawley
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

BREASTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Sawley, union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 7¾ miles (E. S. E.) from Derby. The Wesleyan Methodists have a place of worship. [1].

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records

Breaston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Breaston St Michael (1719) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 2511 has deposited registers Bap 1719 - 1969 Mar 1719-1810, 1814-2007 Burials 1824-1982 Banns 1824-1988

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Wesleyan Methodists
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Primitive Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Shardlow

Breaston became part of the Ilkeston registration district on 1 April 1938

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Breaston on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 350-353. Date accessed: 29 April 2013.