Brazil Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Brazil)
Jump to: navigation, search
Brazil Research Topics
Brazil flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Brazil Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Brazil is Giuseppe Martinengo
South America
Brazil

Guide to Brazil ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

Brazil is a country in South America bordered by French Guiana, Suriname, Guyana, Venezuela, Colombia, Peru, Bolivia, Paraguay, Argentina, and Uruguay. It was formerly a colony of Portugal. The official language is Portuguese.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Brazil Research

Links to articles on getting started with Brazil research.

Brazil Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Brazil research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Brazil

  • Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
  • If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Brazil Finding Town of Origin, to search a variety of records that might provide that information.


Online Gazetteers for Finding Your Ancestors' State and Municipality in Brazil

Once you know the town your ancestors lived in, use one of these these gazetteers to find out the state of that town. If the town is small or just a village, the gazetteer will also tell you the municipality if belongs to. You will need to know the municipality to find civil registration records.

Brazil Clickable Map

Brazil is a republic comprised of 26 states and a federal district (Distrito Federal), which comprises the capital city of Brasilia.

AcreAlagoasAmapaAmazonasBahiaCearaDistrito FederalEspirito SantoGoiasMaranhaoMato GrossoMato Grosso do SulMinas GeraisParaParaibaParanaPernambucoPiauiRio de JaneiroRio Grande do NorteRio Grande do SulRondoniaRoraimaSanta CatarinaSao PauloSergipeTocantinsBrazil regions color map.PNG
About this image

States

Many of Brazil's records are kept at the state and local level and may include civil registrations, censuses, inventories and wills, land records, notarial records, and military records to name a few. States are also divided into counties, and the cities and towns 'municipios' are in the counties, it is possible that a city, especially the larger ones such as Recife and São Paulo , may have a number of counties in them since a state like São Paulo can have over 200 counties.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Brazil," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brazil, accessed 24 March 2016.


Other Languages