Braydeston, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Braydeston, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Blofield|
|Parish registers: 1731|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Braydeston St Michael is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich. Also known as Bradeston.
BRAYDESTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union and hundred of Blofield, E. division of Norfolk, ½ a mile (S.) from Blofield. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Braydeston, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Braydeston, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch
- 1698-1699 Image 34
- 1705-1706 Image 384
- 1715-1716 Image 1204
- 1722-1723 Image 50
- 1722-1723 Image 51
- 1729 Image 1
- 1758-1759 Image 1 (Braystone)
- 1758-1759 Image 2 (Braystone)
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 454
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Poor Law Unions
For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Blofield/Blofield.shtml
The union consisted of the following parishes: Acle, Beighton, Blofield, Braydeston, Brundall, Buckenham Ferry, Burlingham St Andrew, Burlingham St Edmund, Burlingham St Peter, Cantley, Freethorpe, Halvergate, Hassingham, Hemblington, Limpenhoe, Lingwood, Moulton, Great Plumstead, Little Plumstead, Postwick, Ranworth with Panxworth, Reedham, Southwood, Strumpshaw, Thorpe St Andrew, Tunstall, Upton with Fishley, Walsham St Lawrence, Walsham St Mary, Wickhampton, Witton, Woodbastwick.
Blofield Union was incorporated under the 1834 Act. The Union Workhouse was opened in 1836 at Lingwood. Blofield Union Board of Guardians was replaced by Guardians Committee No. 3 in 1930.
Received by the Norfolk Record Office on 6 May 1971 (C/GP2/29) and on unknown dates.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Braydeston on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 350-353. Date accessed: 2 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Braydeston', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.