Braxton County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Braxton County West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Braxton County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||January 15, 1836|
|Address|| County Courthouse|
300 Main Street
P O Box 486
Sutton, WV 26601
Braxton County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Land
- 5.6 Local Histories
- 5.7 Maps
- 5.8 Military
- 5.9 Naturalization Records
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Probate
- 5.12 Taxation
- 5.13 Online West Virginia Tax site
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Braxton County, West Virginia Record Dates
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death indexes 1853-1886
Probate and Land Records
Clerk Circuit Court has Divorce and Court Records
- History of Braxton County and central West Virginia 1919
- History of Braxton County and central West Virginia at Ancestry.com ($)
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1861 A fire burned the courthouse in 1861, but many records still exist from 1836 on.
Places / Localities
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|WVGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- Random Acts WV Cemetery Records Research Guide
- Obituaries Braxton County, West Virginia
- Political Graveyard Braxton County, West Virginia
- West Virginia Cemetery Preservation Association
For tips on accessing Braxton County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
- Braxton County History at Ancestry.com ($)
- Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
Braxton County, West Virginia Map
Braxton County West Virginia 1895
Go here for general Military Records of West Virginia
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Braxton County on page 134.]
Regiments. Service men in Braxton County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Braxton County, West Virginia Genealogy:
- - 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company B.
- - 9th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Hansbrough's) (Confederate). Company B (Capt. William H. Mollohan's Company) and Company C (Braxton Blues).
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company L and Company M (Braxton Dragoons).
- - 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Braxton County Volunteers).
- - 36th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.
- - 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company F (The James River Rifles).
- - 62nd Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Company G.
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861 - 1865 West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Online Probate Records
- 1724 - 1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1756 - 1971 West Virginia Will Books, 1756-1971 at FamilySearch — index and images
Braxton County, West Virginia Wills 1835-1959
West Virginia Will Books
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
West Virginia Vital Records: Birth, Death, Marriages . Includes marriages 1836-1847, 1865-1967 - free.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Braxton County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
- Braxton County, West Virginia Microfilms at the Library of Virginia
- First Families of Braxton County Families
- Braxton County, WV Biographies
Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Braxton County, West Virginia. Page 743 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
- Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
- Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
- J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
- J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.
- Roger U. Delauter, 62nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 41.
- Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.