Braxton County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Braxton County

Guide to Braxton County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Sutton
Organized: January 15, 1836
Parent County(s): Lewis, Kanawha, Nicholas[1]
Neighboring Counties
Calhoun  • Clay  • Gilmer  • Lewis  • Nicholas  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
Braxton County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-braxton.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Braxton County Courthouse
300 Main Street
P O Box 486
Sutton, WV 26601
Phone: 304-765-2833
Braxton County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death indexes 1853-1886; probate and land records.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.[2]

Braxton County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1853 1853 1836 1836 1836 1870
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1917. General compliance by 1925.

Record Loss

1861 A fire burned the courthouse in 1861, but many records still exist from 1836 on.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Braxton County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

The following site may be of help in locating cemeteries:

Census Records

For tips on accessing Braxton census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 2,575
1850 4,212 63.6%
1860 4,992 18.5%
1870 6,480 29.8%
1880 9,787 51.0%
1890 13,928 42.3%
1900 18,904 35.7%
1910 23,023 21.8%
1920 23,973 4.1%
1930 22,579 −5.8%
1940 21,658 −4.1%
1950 18,082 −16.5%
1960 15,152 −16.2%
1970 12,666 −16.4%
1980 13,894 9.7%
1990 12,998 −6.4%
2000 14,702 13.1%
2010 14,523 −1.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Braxton County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Gilmer CountyLewis CountyWebster CountyNicholas CountyClay CountyCalhoun CountyWV BRAXTON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Go here for general Military Records of West Virginia

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Braxton County on page 134.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Braxton served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Braxton County:

Confederate

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company B.
- 9th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Hansbrough's) (Confederate). Company B (Capt. William H. Mollohan's Company) and Company C (Braxton Blues).[6]
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company L and Company M (Braxton Dragoons).[7]
- 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Braxton County Volunteers).[8]
- 36th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.[9]
- 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company F (The James River Rifles).[10]
- 62nd Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Company G.[11]

Union

- 8th Regiment, West Virginia Infantry.[12]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Braxton County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Braxton County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Braxton_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 29 June 2018.
  6. Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
  7. Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
  8. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  9. J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
  10. J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.
  11. Roger U. Delauter, 62nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 41.
  12. Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Braxton_County,_West_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=3446394"