Bratoft, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Bratoft, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Spilsby|
|Parish registers: 1685|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1563|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Bratoft St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the hamlet of Bratoft.
The church is a small mediaeval sandstone building built in 1747 which was restored in 1890.
Bratoft is the birth place of John Scott, a translator of the bible born in Bratoft in 1747 and the church possesses 'poppy head' bench ends, and also an allegorical painting of the defeat of the Spanish Armarda.
The parish register dates from 1685.
"BRATOFT, or Braytoft, a parishin Spilsby district, Lincoln; on the East Lincoln railway, 1 mile SW of Burgh station, and 4½ E by S of Spilsby. Post Town, Burgh, under Boston."
This parish was in the Burgh sub-district of Spilsby registration district
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bratoft parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Bratoft Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed: 10 August 2013.