To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Brastad Parish, Göteborg och Bohus, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Brastad Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Brastad Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Brastad Parish, Göteborg och Bohus, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Göteborg
Pastorat Bro and Brastad
Län Göteborg och Bohus
Landskap Bohuslän
Härad Stångenäs
Tingslag 1683-1698 Stångenäs, 1699-1732 Stångenäs and Sotenäs, 1732-1916 Tunge, Stångenäs, Sörbygden and Sotenäs, 1917-1970 Sunnerviken
Domsaga add here
Fögderi 1686-1966 Sunnerviken, 1967- Munkedal
Kommun 1863-1951 Brastad, 1952-1970 Stångenäs, 1971- Lysekil
Militär indelning Bohusläns Regemente
Stångenäs Kompani
1:a Bohusläns Båtsmans Kompani
Nya Ordin. Båtsmans-Roteringen
Extra Båtsmans-Rotehållet
NAD Ref Code SE/GLA/13052
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link

.

Brastad is of medieval origin. In 1391 it was spelled Bragesätre.In the old days it was spelled Brasetters socken.

The alotted soldiers belonged to the Bohusläns regemente and boatswains belonged to 1:a Bohusläns båtsmanskompani.

In late 19th century, the parish was transformed from a small-scale farming coutryside into an industrial area.when a number of quarries were opened. Stone cutters from all over Sweden came to Brastad. The stone was exported to all over Europe. In connection with the depression in the 1930-ies the stone industry was almost wiped out.

Place Names[edit | edit source]

Agateberg, Angård

Backa Lilla, Backa Stora, Barckedall, Bärg, Bärgia, Barkedahll, Barkedal, Båtvik, Berg, Berga, Bergstugan,Bergås, Bergås under Tegen, Biberg, Björkemyr, Björkmyr under Ryk, Bodalen, Borgen, Bornöborg, Bornö Stora, Botten, Botten under Gåseberg, Botten under Hermansröd, Botten under Tegen,Bräcke, Bräke, Brasta, Brastad, Brastad Frälse, Brastad Skatte, Bryggorna, Bryggorna under Knarrevik

Dalarne, Dalarne under Övre Immestad, Dammen, Dammen under Berg, Dammen under Lund, Dammen under Prestorp, Dammen under Stora Halls, Dammen under Tuntorp Norra, Dammen under Östmål, Dykärr, Dyvik

Ekehagen, Enerhogen

Fisketorpet, Fredriksberg, Frälse Brastad, Frälse Sköllungen, Frälse Ryk, Fröjdendal

Gåseberg, Giljan, Giljan under Tuntorp Norra, Grinnkärr, Groröd Norra, Groröd Östra, Groröd Västra, Grönvik, Gunebro

Hagen, Hagen under Knarrevik, Hagen under Prästtorp, Hagen under Västra Sämm, Halls Lilla, Halls Stora, Hallstrand, Hals, Hamn, Hea, Hedarne, Hedarne under Sköllungen Frälse, Hedarne under södra Sämm, Hedar Sämm, Hedehagen, Heden, Heden under Lund, Heder under Norra Rörvall, Heden under Stora Hall, Heden Lilla, Heden Stora, Heen, Heller, Hermundsrödh, Hermunsröd, Herrmansröd, Hjelmdahl, Hjelmdal under Medbo, Hogen, Hogen under Berg, Hogen under Södra Sämm, Hogen under Österbo, Hollmerö, Holländeröd, Holma, Holmen, Holmeröd, Håbäck, Hålänareröd, Häller, Hällern, Hästhagen

Imesta, Imestad, Immesta, Immestad Lilla, Immestad Nedre, Immestad Övre, Immestads öddegård, Intagen, Intagan under Bräcke, Intagan under Häller, Intagan under Tuntorp Lilla, Intaget, Intaget under Holma, Intaget under Knarrevik, Intaget under Lilla Backa, Intaget under Nöteberg, Intaget under Stora Hall, Intaget under Tegen

Kasen, Kasen under Södra Sämm, Kiennedalen, Kiärr, Klofvetoft, Knarrevik, Kohagen, Kohagen under Östmål, Kristendal, Kroken, Kroken under Nöteberg, Kyrkheden, Känshagen, Kärndalen, Kärr, Kärret

Långegärdet, Långholmen, Lekevall, Lerdal, Leerklef, Lerklef, Liarne, Lid, Lidarne, Lilla Backa, Lilla Halls, Lilla hede, Lilla Imesta, Lilla Immestad, Lilla Sandvik, Lilla Sandvik under Tuntorp Övre, Lilla Tuntorp, Lindhogen, Linnehagen, Linnevik, Lokebacken, Lugnet, Lugnet under Holma, Lund, Lunnekärr, Lycke, Löfkasen

Maen, Medbo, Medby, Moen, Myren, Myren under Barkedahl, Myren under Berg, Myren under Häller, Myren under Lilla Backa, Myren under Lycke, Myren under Nolby, Myren under Norra Sämm, Myren under Prästtorp, Myren under Södra Sämm, Myren under Tänum, Myren under Östra Groröd, Myren under Övre Immestad

Nedre Immestad, Nedre Tuntorp, Nolby, Nordhagen, Nore Röruall, Norra Groröd, Norra Rörvall, Norra Sämm, Norra Tuntorp, Norre Groröd, Norre Röruall, Norrkihla, Nyborg, Nyborg under Övre Immestad, Nyborg under Gåseberg, Nybygget, Nybygget underr Stora hede, Nybygget under Berg, Nödeberg, Nöteberg, Nötteberg

Olshagen

Prästtorp

Qvarnbacken, Qvarndalen, Qvarnvik

Rijxön, Rixö, Rixö Ö, Runingen, Runningen, Ryk Frälse, Ryk Skatte, Rönningen, Rörmyr, Rörual, Röruall, Rörvall, Rörvall Norra, Rörvall Södra, Rörwall, Rörvik

Saltvik, Sandbacken, Sandbacken under Västra Groröd, Sandvik, Sandvik Lilla, Sandvik Lilla under Tuntorp Övre, Semb, Semsta, Skatte Ryk, Skatte Sköllungen, Skeppsvik, Skiöllungen, Skiölungen, Skogen, Skogsgärdet, Skulelycka, Sköllungen, Sköllungen Frälse, Sköllungen Skatte, Slottet, Slätten, Snäckebacka, Snäkebaka, Sollid, Spångdalen, Stora Backa, Stora Bornö, Stora Halls, Stora Hede, Store Hede, Stor Tufwan, Storängen, Strandbacken, Stranden, Stämmen, Stämmhogen, Svensbacken, Säleby, Sälleby, Säm, Sämms Hedar, Sämm Norra, Sämm Södra, Sämm Västra, Sämm Öster, Sämstad, Södra Rörvall, Södre Rörwall, Södra Sämm

Tegen, Teyen, Torps Ladugård, Trinnehagen, Trånget, Tufwan Stora, Tuntorp Lilla, Tuntorp Nedre, Tuntorp Norra, Tuntorp Övre, Tylliksberg, Tyskebotten, Tänum, Töntorp

Windbräckan, Västra Groröd, Västra Hamn, Västra Sämm

Åsen

Ödegården, Ödegården under Bräcke, Ödsmål, Ödsmåhl, Öhed, Öhee, Öhn, Öhna, Önna, Örsängen, Österbo, Östergård, Östmål, Östere Groröd, Östra Groröd, Östra Sämm, Övre Immestad, Övre Tuntorp



Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Bro, Lyse

Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Göteborg och Bohus Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Göteborg och Bohus" and then select your parish.


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies


References[edit | edit source]

History

Wikipedia on Brastad Parish (in Swedish originally)


Placenames

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Brastad Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD).September 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/

Brastad, Husförhörslängd 1861-1866 (AI:5), Ortregister

Brastad, Dopbok C:1 1703-1729