Brampton, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Brampton, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Brampton|
|Parish registers: 1663|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1665|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BRAMPTON (St. Martin), a parish, and the head of a union, in Eskdale ward, E. division of Cumberland; 9½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Carlisle, and 305 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, and Presbyterians.
|Irthington||Nether-Denton : Farlam|
Resources[edit | edit source]
If you live in Cumbria then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Brampton and Cumberland in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Brampton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Brampton Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Presbyterian Church in England
- Roman Catholic
- Independent Zion Chapel - Births and baptisms, 1817-1837 at the FHL
- Wesleyan Methodist - Church records, 1841-1934 at the FHL
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
1831 Census free google ebook
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Brampton on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 18 July 2013.