Bramley, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Bramley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Bramley|
|Parish registers: 1717|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
BRAMLEY, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Peter, liberty of the borough of Leeds, West Riding,Yorkshire, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Leeds; containing 8875 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Baptists, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.
BRAMLEY, a village and a township-chapelry in Leeds parish, W. R. Yorkshire. Pop., 8,690. Houses, 1,957. There are four dissenting chapels, and a Roman Catholic chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Bramley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|BRAMLEY CHAPELRY (1717) Online Records|
|FREG||1717, 1723-1910||1724-1753, 1836-1904||1717-1902|
|LEEDS ST PETER PARISH (1572) Online Records|
|Leeds Holy Trinity Chapelry (1730) Online Records|
|Leeds St John the Evangelist Chapelry (1773) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels comprising the whole ancient parish of Leeds to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on theLEEDS PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 339-343. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72 Adapted 18 December 2013
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.