Braishfield, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Braishfield, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Romsey|
|Parish registers: 1855; For more records see Michelmersh|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1855|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Michelmersh with Braishfield; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, described Braishfield like this:
BRAISHFIELD, or Brashfield, a chapelry in the parishes of Mitchelmersh, Romsey, and Hursley, Hants; on the Anton river, and the Andover railway, 3½ miles N of Romsey r. station. It was constituted in 1855: and it has a post office under Romsey..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Braishfield, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£) - note in table below a different date range for records currently in TGEN under alternate spelling Braisfield.|
|BRAISHFIELD PARISH Online Records|
|TGEN||1855-1874 (as Braisfield parish)|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|