Bradwell by Coggeshall, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Bradwell by Coggeshall


Guide to Bradwell by Coggeshall, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bradwell by Coggeshall, Essex
Holy Trinity Church, Bradwell Essex HolyTrinity.jpg
Holy Trinity Church, Bradwell Essex HolyTrinity
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Witham
County Essex
Poor Law Union Braintree
Registration District Braintree
Records begin
Parish registers: 1704
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Bradwell by Coggeshall or Bradwell-Next-Coggeshall (Holy Trinity), is a parish in Braintree district, Essex; on the river Blackwater, it is 2 miles W of Coggeshall, and 4 miles E by S of Braintree railway station. The post office is Coggeshall, under Kelvedon.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bradwell by Coggeshall, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Bradwell by Coggeshall, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1704-1754
ESSEX 1704-1923 1708-1837 1704-1846
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
NBI 1704-1817

online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office includes parish registers , Bishop's transcripts and Monumental Inscriptions for Holy Trinity and registers for the Convent of the Good Shepherd Glazewell.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Braintree Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bradwell-Juxta-Coggeshall on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.