Bradwell, Oxfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Bradwell, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Witney|
|Registration District||Faringdon; Witney|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1721|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BROADWELL, or Bradwell, a village in the district of Witney, and a parish in the districts of Witney and Faringdon, and county of Oxford. The village stands on Akeman-street, 4 miles NNE of Lechlade, and 8½ SW of Witney r. station. The parish includes also the hamlet of Filkins, the chapelry of Holwell, and the township of Kelmscott. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Bradwell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Bradwell Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Oxfordshire History Centre.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals
[edit | edit source]
Finney, Janet. A Short History of the Hemmings. History and family names of John Hemming and nee Ann Harris and the following surnames, Green, Smith, Whitney, Blunt, Jones, in the following areas Gloucestershire, Oxfordshire, Northampton, North Wales. Article dated from 1731-1910, and is found in Fottprints (Northamptonshire Family History Society Magazine)Nov 2010. vol. 33. no. 2. pages 18-24, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo v.33.no2
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales