Bradley County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Bradley County
 

Guide to Bradley County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Warren
Organized: December 18, 1840
Parent County(s): Union [1]
Neighboring Counties
Ashley  • Calhoun  • Cleveland  • Drew  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasBradleyCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-bradley.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for Captain Hugh Bradley, who served with Andrew Jackson and fought in the War of 1812. The County Seat is Harrison and was founded December 18, 1840. It is located in the southern area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Bradley County Courthouse
101 E Cedar Street
Warren, AR 71671
Phone: 870.226.3464
Bradley County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1846 and probate records from 1850;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court, court and land records.[3]

Bradley County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1846 1914* 1841 1841 1850 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1840--Bradley County was created 18 December 1840 from Union County.
  • County seat: Warren[5]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Townships
  • Clay
  • Eagle
  • Marion
  • Moro
  • Ouachita
  • Palestine
  • Pennington
  • River
  • Washington


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Bradley County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture.[7]

  • 1686 - The first French permanent settlement, Arkansas Post, was set up by Henri de Tonti.
  • 1763 - The Treaty of Paris marked the end of the French-Indian War and of French imperialism in North America.
  • 1801 - Spain surrendered control of Louisiana Territory to France.
  • 1803 - France sold the Louisiana Territory to the United States.
  • 1803 - The United States government purchased over 800,000 square miles of land west of the Mississippi River from France in the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1900-1910 - Warren, the county seat, became home to three large milling operations and as a result of the lumber business, Warren’s population doubled

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Bradley, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 3,829
1860 8,388 119.1%
1870 8,646 3.1%
1880 6,285 −27.3%
1890 7,972 26.8%
1900 9,651 21.1%
1910 14,518 50.4%
1920 15,970 10.0%
1930 17,494 9.5%
1940 18,097 3.4%
1950 15,987 −11.7%
1960 14,029 −12.2%
1970 12,778 −8.9%
1980 13,803 8.0%
1990 11,793 −14.6%
2000 12,600 6.8%
2010 11,508 −8.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1841-1933 Bradley County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Dockets 1880-1907; Guardian bonds and letters; Letters of administration 1841-1858; Probate records 1841-1880; Wills 1860-1933

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Dallas CountyCleveland CountyLincoln CountyDrew CountyAshley CountyCalhoun CountyUnion CountyAR BRADLEY.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Bradley County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Battalion, Arkansas Calvalry (Confederate) , Company B
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate) , Company A
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 20th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company D

Men from this county served in the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[8], Company C

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bradley County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[9] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Bradley County Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 837
Warren, AR 71671

Websites

  • ARGenWeb ]. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb . Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Bradley County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/bradley/.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bradley County, Arkansas. Page 67 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 65.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Bradley County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bradley_County,_Arkansas, accessed 30 August 2018.
  7. Bill Norman, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=750&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 11, 2016), “Bradley County.”
  8. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas : Arkansas Research, c1987), pp. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  9. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  11. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.