Bradford County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Bradford County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Bradford County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||December 21, 1858|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Immigration
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Probate
- 5.12 Taxation
- 5.13 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Bradford County, Florida Record Dates
Bradford County Courthouse
PO Box B;
Starke, FL 32091-1286;
Formerly New River County Name changed to Bradford 6 Dec 1861;
County Clerk has marriage records from 1875,
probate and court records from 1892
and land records from 1876
Named for Captain Richard Bradford who was killed in the American Civil War's Battle of Santa Rosa Island.
New River County was created on December 21, 1858 from Columbia County by an act of the Florida Legislature. December 6, 1861 New River County was divided into two counties. The new county was named Baker County and New River's name was changed to BRADFORD County in honor of Captain Bradford who was killed in the Civil War.
In the 1860 New River population was 3,820 In 1861 the population was virtually halved by the carving of Baker from New River. The 1870 Bradford County's population was 1,325 people and the decrease was not due to a massive migration away from the area, but due to Bradford having been split into several Counties.
County seat: Starke 
The county was named for the first Confederate officer from Florida to die in the Civil War - Captain Richard Bradford. The County Seat is Starke and the county was created 1858.The County is located in the North East area of the state.
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1865 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
1875 -- A second courthouse was burned in 1875.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places / Localities
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Brooker | Hampton | Lawtey | Starke| Clayno | Graham | Hampton Beach | Heilbronn | New River | Pleasant Grove | Sampson | Saxton |Theressa
The following web sites may have additional information on Bradford County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
For tips on accessing Bradford County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
- Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
NARA Ships Passenger Lists
These passenger lists cover:
1834 - 1897 Immigration of Russians to the United States
1/12/1846 -12/31/1851 Irish Famine
1850 - 1897 Germans to the United States
1855 - 1900 Italians to the United States
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Bradford County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
- 1821-1997 Maps of Florida
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps University of South Florida
- Florida State Military Files USGenWeb
- Florida state pension records from various wars Pension Transcriptions USGenWeb
- Bradford County Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1883 - Bradford County Pensioners on the Rolls as of January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1885-1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War I
World War II
- Bradford County World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bradford County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- 1895-1910 Bradford County Telegraph Chronicling America
- 1888-2009 Bradford County Telegraph University of Florida
- Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library USGenWeb
Probate records are held by the Bradford County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Bradford County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1990 FamilySearch Florida Probate Records 1784-1990
- 1810 – 1974 Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974
- Florida State Archives $
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
- 1880 - 1935 - FamilySearch Florida, Births and Christenings, 1880-1935
- 1877 - 1939 - FamilySearch Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939
- 1877 - 1998 - FamilySearch Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998
- 1885 - Bradford County, FL 1885 Mortality Schedule (Genealogy Trails)
- 1900 - 1921 - FamilySearch Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921
- 1901 - Bradford County, FL Death Records (Genealogy Trails)
- 1927 - 2001 - Ancestry.com $ Florida, Divorce Index, 1927-2001
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 - FamilySearch Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974
- 1830 - 1993 - FamilySearch Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 - FamilySearch Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001
Societies and Libraries
Bradford County Historical Board
PO Drawer A
Starke, FL 32091
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Bradford County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Bradford County FLGenWeb Project, a member of The FLGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Bradford County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Bradford County FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
- Bradford County, Florida Genealogy Trails
- Bradford County FL Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bay County, Florida . Page 133-137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 143-145.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bradford County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Bradford County, Florida Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/fla/bradford/ accessed 04/24/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Bradford County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bradford_County,_Florida 04/24/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Bradford County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bradford_County,_Florida, accessed 10 Dec 2018.