Bradford, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bradford, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes A-I
West Riding of Yorkshire
Bradford

Guide to Bradford, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here is a comprehensive List of Churches and Chapels within Bradford St Peter Parish Boundary.

Bradford City Hall

Parish History

BRADFORD (St. Peter), a borough, market-town, and parish [with several chapelries and ancient chapels attached to it], a registration district and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Morley, West Riding, Yorkshire, comprising the townships of Allerton, North Bierley, Bowling, Bradford, Clayton, Eccleshill, Heaton, Manningham, Shipley, and Wilsden, and the chapelries of Haworth, Horton, and Thornton. The churches dedicated to St. James and St. John are listed under Horton, St. Jude's church is listed  under the township of Manningham. There are other churches that have been erected at Bradford. They are listed under the heading, [[Bradford, Yorkshire Genealogy#Church Records|Church Records] below.

Coat of arms of Bradford, Yorkshire
Bradford location in England
Bradford Yorkshire flag

Bradford is in the Metropolitan Borough of the City of Bradford in West Yorkshire, England, in the foothills of the Pennines 8.6 miles (14 km) west of Leeds, and 16 miles (26 km) northwest of Wakefield. Bradford became a municipal borough in 1847, and received its charter as a city in 1897. Following local government reform in 1974, city status was bestowed upon the wider metropolitan borough.

Bradford is not built on any substantial body of water but is situated at the junction of three valleys, one of them, that of the Bradford Beck which rises in moorland to the west, and is swelled by its tributaries, the Horton Beck, Westbrook, Bowling Beck and Eastbrook. At the site of the original ford, the beck turns north, and flows towards the River Aire at Shipley. Bradfordale (or Bradforddale) is a name given to this valley (see for example Firth 1997). It can be regarded as one of the Yorkshire Dales, though as it passes though the city, it is often not recognized as such.

After an uprising in 1070, during William the Conqueror's Harrying of the North, the manor of Bradford was laid waste and is described as such in the Domesday Book of 1086. It then became part of the Honour of Pontefract given to Ilbert de Lacy for service to the Conqueror, in whose family the manor remained until 1311. There is evidence of a castle in the time of the Lacys. The manor then passed to the Earl of Lincoln, John of Gaunt, The Crown and, ultimately, private ownership in 1620.

By the middle ages Bradford, had become a small town centered on Kirkgate, Westgate and Ivegate. In the reign of Henry VIII Bradford exceeded Leeds as a manufacturing center. Bradford grew slowly over the next two-hundred years as the woolen trade gained in prominence.

In 1801, Bradford was a rural market town of 6,393 people. Blast furnaces were established in about 1788. Yorkshire iron was used for shackles, hooks and piston rods for locomotives, colliery cages and other mining appliances where toughness was required, and this allowed Bradford to start growing to an industrial entity.

Bradford was also a center for the local wool industry. In 1825 the wool-combers union called a strike that lasted five-months but workers were forced to return to work through hardship leading to the introduction of machine-combing. This Industrial Revolution led to rapid growth, with wool imported in vast quantities for the manufacture of worsted cloth in which Bradford specialized, and the town soon became known as the wool capital of the world. Bradford had ample supplies of locally mined coal to provide the power that the industry needed.

One unique aspect of the development of Bradford as a source of woolen goods was the fact that during the 1820s and 1830s, there was immigration from Germany. Many were Jewish merchants and they became active in the life of the town. They were a major influence in developing the marketing skills that allowed Bradford to export to the world.

The textile industry went into decline throughout the latter part of the 20th century. However a culture of innovation had been fundamental to Bradford's dominance, with new textile technologies being invented in the city; a prime example being the work of Samuel Lister. This innovation culture continues today throughout Bradford's economy, from automotive design centers (Kahn Design), to electronics (Pace Micro Technology)to Food Supermarket development such as Wm Morrison Supermarkets which was founded by William Morrison in 1899, initially as an egg and butter merchant in Rawson Market, operating under the name of Wm Morrison (Provisions) Limited. Morrisons is now a major UK chain of Supermarkets. Morrisons alone employs more than 5,000 persons in the community. [1]

Resources

Cemeteries (Civil)

  • Bradford Office, Cemeteries and Crematoria
    Unit 7, Mitre Court
    Cutler Heights Lane
    Bradford BD4 9JY
    Bradford UK Gov; Cemeteries
  • Scholemoor Cemetery & Crematoria
  • Cemetery Lodge
    Necropolis Road
    Bradford BD7 2PS.
  • Bowling Cemetery
    64 Sangster Way
    Bradford BD5 8LQ
  • North Brierley Cemetery
    Cemetery Road
    North Brierley, Bradford BD6 2NG
  • Thornton Cemetery
    Thornton Road
    Thornton, Bradford BD13 3JX
  • Queensbury Cemetery
    West End
    Queensbury, Bradford BD13 2AH
  • Clayton (Undercliffe) Cemetery
  • The Lodge
    Undercliffe Lane
    Bradford BD3 0DW
  • Tong Cemetery
    Toftshaw Lane
    Bradford BD46RB

Church records

The churches dedicated to St. James and St. John are listed under Horton, St. Jude's church is listed  under the township of Manningham. There are other churches that have been erected at Bradford. These include:

  • All Saints Church, Bradford
  • Christ Church, Bradford
  • Holy Trinity, Bradford
  • St Andrews, Bradford
  • St Chrysostom Bradford
  • St Clement's, Bradford
  • St John, Bradford
  • St Jude, Bradford
  • St Michael, Bradford
  • St Phillip's Church, Bradford
  • St Thomas, Bradford Moor
  • St Augustine's Church, Bandfoot
  • St Matthew's, Bierley,
  • St John the Evangelist Bierly
  • Bowling St. John
  • Buttershaw St Paul
  • Clayton St John the Baptist
  • Cullingworth
  • Daisy-Hill
  • Denholme-Gate
  • Denholme St Paul's
  • Eccleshill
  • Fairweather Green St. Saviour's
  • Great Horton St. John the Evangelist - 1809
  • Greengates St. John the Evangelist
  • Haworth St. Michael and all All Angels
  • Horton All Saints - 1840
  • Horton St. James - 1840
  • Laister-Dyke
  • Little Horton All Saints
  • Low Moor St. Mark's
  • New Leeds
  • Manningham St. Jude
  • Manningham St. Luke
  • Manningham St. Mary Magdalene
  • Manninghame St. Paul's 
  • Oxenhope St. Mary the Virgin
  • Shearbridge St Columba's
  • Shipley
  • St. Paul's
  • Stanbury St. Gabriel's
  • Thorpe Edge St. John the Divine
  • Thornton St. Jame's
  • West Bowling St. Stephen's
  • Wibsey St. Paul's[2]

Non Conformists

Bradford is very diverse, ethnically. There have been waves of immigrants over the past hundred years, and they are represented by the following Christian Groups:

  • Baptists
  • Chinese Christian
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
  • Greek Orthodox
  • Independents
  • Jehovah's Witnesses
  • Methodist
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Quakers/Society of Friends
  • Roman Catholic
  • Salvation Army Church
  • Seventh Day Adventists
  • Unitarians
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Non Christian faiths include the following:

  • Buddhist
  • Hindu
  • Jewish
  • Muslim
  • Sikh

Online Records

Online data content from the parish registers of St Peter Bradford and its attached chapelry registers within its ancient boundary exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[3]
IARC = Archive.org
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch.org
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
OXTRST = OxenhopeBurialGrndsTrust
BRADFORD PARISH (1596) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1596-1812 1596-1812 1596-1812 1596-1812 1596-1812 1596-1812
FREG 1601-1812
FS 1666-1912

1715-1880

1675-1930

HATH None

1596-1708

None

BRADFORD ALL SAINTS (1813) a.k.a. Horton All Saints

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1813-1833

None

None

BRADFORD CHRIST CHURCH (1815) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1838-1910

1859

None

BRADFORD HOLY TRINITY (1864) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1864-1871 (part)

None

None

BRADFORD ST ANDREWS Chapelry (1853) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1853-1860

None

None

BRADFORD ST CLEMENTS (1894) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BRADFORD ST CHRYSOSTOM (1878) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1878-1893

None

None

BRADFORD ST JOHN Chapelry (1854) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BRADFORD ST JUDE Chapelry (1857) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1857-1863
None

None

BRADFORD ST MICHAEL Chapelry (1867)

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1867-1884

None

None

BRADFORD ST PHILIPS Church (1861)

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BRADFORD ST THOMAS Chapelry (1862) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1862-1880

None

None

BIERLEY CHAPELRY (1824) Online records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1824-1890

None

1847-1855

FS (Bts) 1847-1862




 BUTTERSHAW CHAPELRY (1829) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1829-1910

1842-1912

1838-1908

CLAYTON CHAPELRY (1851) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DENHOLME GATE CHAPELRY (1674) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1674, 1846-1848

1674, 1847-1848

1674, 1846-1848

ECCLESHILL CHAPELRY (1844) Online Records - see also Dewsbury Parish

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1844-1896

None

1825-1838

HAWORTH CHAPELRY (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1645-1910
1645-1910
1645-1935
1645-1935
1645-1884
1645-1884
FS 1645-1847

1645-1837

1736-1847

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

GREAT HORTON ALL SAINTS Chapelry(1809) online records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1809-1897

None

None

LITTLE HORTON ST JAMES Chapelry (1838) online records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
HORTON ST JOHN (1840) Online records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
                                   HORTON ST OSWALDS CHAPELRY (1902) Online Records

             Baptisms           Marriages               Burials
AC [1]




LAISTER-DYKE CHAPELRY (1861) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
                                                LOWMOOR ST MARK CHAPELRY (1858) Online Records

           Baptisms                Marriages                   Burials
FS 1887-1899
None
None
                                           MANNINGHAM ST JUDE CHAPELRY (1843) Online Records

             Baptisms               Marriages             Burials
FS 1843-1861




                                          MANNINGHAM ST MARY CHAPELRY (1878) Online records

            Baptisms              Marriages            Burials
FS 1878-1896
None
None
                                           MANNINGHAM ST PAUL CHAPELRY (1843) Online Records

             Baptisms
            Marraiges
           Burials        
FS 1843-1897
None
None
                                            OXENHOPE ST MARY THE VIRGIN (1847) online records

           Baptisms
           Marriages
          Burials
OXTRST
None

None

1800-1900
THORNTON ST. JAME'S CHAPELRY (1682) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images      
FS 1682-1837
None
None
                                                              WIBSEY CHAPELRY (1661)

             Baptisms              Marriages                    Burials
FS 1730-1835
1730-1753
1721-1747;1755-1757; 1763-1765;1777-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1599.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths:

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Newspapers

Occupations

Bradford's textile industry has been in decline for many years and the city has suffered from de-industrialisation. Some areas of Bradford are among the worst levels of social deprivation in the UK, with widespread pockets of exclusion, and rates of unemployment in some wards exceeding 25%.

However the city council has made great strides in diversification, and the city is home to several major companies, notably in finance (Yorkshire Building Society, Provident Financial, Santander UK), textiles ( British Wool Marketing Board, Bulmer and Lumb Group), chemicals (BASF, Nufarm UK), electronics (Pace Micro, Filtronic), engineering (NG Bailey, Powell Switchgear), and manufacturing, (Denso Marston, Bailey Offsite, Hallmark Cards UK and Seabrook Potato Crisps). Supermarket chain Morrisons has its head office in Bradford as does the water utility company Yorkshire Water.

Bradford also has opportunities for employment in the education field, particularly with the growth of the University of Bradford.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Societies

Archives

West Yorkshire Archive Service:

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Bradford," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bradford, accessed 15 July, 2017.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 326-331. Date accessed: 23 December 2013.
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  4. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.