Bradfield, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Bradfield


Guide to Bradfield, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bradfield, Essex
St lawrence Bradfield Essex contributor Peter Stack.jpg
St lawrence Bradfield Essex contributor Peter Stack
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tendring
County Essex
Poor Law Union Tendring
Registration District Tendring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ardleigh
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Bradfield, is a parish in Tendring district, Essex; it is on the extuary of the Stour river, on the Harwich branch of the Eastern Union railway, and it is 3 miles E by S of Manningtree.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Bradfield Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1564
1564
1564
Images 1564-1994 EssexAncestors[2] 1564-1957 EssexAncestors[2] 1564-1992 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes

1568-1837 findmypast[3] 1564-1992 findmypast[4]

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office includes parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts indexed Monumental Inscriptions.

Also includes records of Mill Lane Cemetery

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Bradfield on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.