Boxworth, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Boxworth, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Boxworth St Peter Cambridgeshire
|Poor Law Union||St Ives|
|Registration District||St Ives|
|Parish registers: 1588; For more records see Elsworth|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
BOXWORTH (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of St. Ives, hundred of Papworth, county of Cambridge, 6½ miles (N. E. by N.) from Caxton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish Registers are held at Cambridge Record Office Bishop's Transcripts are held at the Cambridge University Library
Parish registers for Boxworth, 1588-1903 at the FHL
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Boxworth on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.