Bournemouth St Peter, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Bournemouth, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bournemouth St Peter, Hampshire|
|Poor Law Union||Christchurch|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
As the population of the parish grew in the latter part of the 19th century, further parishes were created as divisions from St Peter. These churches included the following:
- Bournemouth St Clement - 1871
- Bournemouth Holy Trinity- 1867
- Bournemouth St Michael]] - 1874
- Bournemouth St Paul - 1878
- Bournemouth St Andrew - 1887
- Bournemouth St Augustin - 1893
- Bournemouth St John - 1888
- Bournemouth St Stephen- 1902
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
1848[edit | edit source]
BOURNEMOUTH, a village, in the parish, union, and hundred of Christchurch, Ringwood and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, about 6 miles (W. by S.) from Christchurch..
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Bournemouth - Dorset OPC
- Bournemouth, Hampshire (St Peter) - Michael Day, UKOLN
- St Peter with St Stephen, Bournemouth - Church of England
- Bournemouth Town Centre Parish
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., "A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 314-317. Date accessed: 19 June 2013.