Boulder County, Colorado Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Boulder County, Colorado)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Colorado
Boulder County

Guide to Boulder County, Colorado ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Boulder
Organized: November 1, 1861
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Broomfield  • Gilpin  • Grand  • Jefferson  • Larimer  • Weld
See County Maps
Courthouse
ColoradoBoulderCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Colorado Boulder County.png
Adoption

South Boulder Creek, Boulder County

County Information

Description

The early settlers mostly came for the Colorado gold rush in 1858. The County was named after Boulder City and Boulder Creek, so named because of the abundance of boulders in the area. The County has Boulder as its seat and the County was created November 1, 1861. The County is located in the southeast area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Boulder County Courthouse
2020 13th st
PO Box 471
Boulder, CO 80302
Phone 303.441.7770
Boulder County Website

Boulder Clerk Recorder's Office
1750 33rd Street, Suite 201
Boulder, CO 80301
Telephone: (303) 413-7770

County recorder has marriage records from 1863, land records from 1864 and military discharge records from 1917;
County Health Department has birth and death records records from 1872.
County Court has probate, divorce and court records.[3]

Boulder County, Colorado Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1872 1863 1872 1864 1864 1864 1860

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


  • Caribou, Colorado was an important silver mining town. Famed at the time for being the coldest, snowiest, windiest town, at 10,000 feet elevation it was not an easy place to live. The Silver Crash of 1893 meant that it was less profitable. Incorporated as a town in 1871, Caribou had peak population of 549 in the 1880 census, and became a ghost town by the 1920s. [7]

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Boulder County, Colorado online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Colorado Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

In 1860, present-day Colorado was enumerated in the Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories. Colorado Territory was created in 1861 and was enumerated as such in the 1870 Census. A state census was taken in 1885 for Colorado.[8] See links listed below.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 1,939
1880 9,723 401.4%
1890 14,082 44.8%
1900 21,544 53.0%
1910 30,334 40.8%
1920 31,861 5.0%
1930 32,456 1.9%
1940 37,438 15.4%
1950 48,296 29.0%
1960 74,254 53.7%
1970 131,889 77.6%
1980 189,625 43.8%
1990 226,374 19.4%
2000 271,651 20.0%
2010 294,567 8.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State and Territory Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1880 Census was the first Federal Census for Colorado after it became a state in 1876.[9] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Colorado Census.

  • 1860 The first U.S. federal census that included the Boulder county area was part of the 1860 Nebraska territorial census. Transcribed records from that census are available here: Census
  • 1870 U. S. federal census records began for Colorado in 1870 and continue every ten years to the present.
  • 1860-1940 Colorado Census Records from 1860 to 1940 at FamilySearch.org — index/images

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Online Church Records
Lutheran Church

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Broomfield, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Presbyterian Church

Additional Churches

Court Records

Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.

1914-1934 Boulder County Mothers' Compensation Records 1914-1934. An Index compiled from the official]] record of the applications granted by the Boulder County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of Compensation payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County.

1933-1936 Boulder County Old Age Pension Records 1933-1936. An Index compiled from the official record of the applications granted by the Boulder County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of pension payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County

Directories

Online Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Boulder County Recording Division (303) 413-7770 and fax (303) 413-7775
email: recording@bouldercounty.org

Online Land Records

For more information see Colorado Land and Property

Local Histories

Some local histories available are these:

  • Boulder County: an illustrated history / by Thomas J. Noel and Dan W. Corson. Carlsbad, Calif. ; Heritage Media Corp., c1999.
  • Ghosts of Boulder County: a guide to the ghost towns and mining camps of Boulder County, Colorado / written and photographed by John K. Aldrich. Lakewood, Colo. (5815 W. 6th St., Bldg. 2, Suite. A, Lakewood 80214): Centennial Graphics, c1986
  • A guide to the greater St. Vrain Valley. Compass Communications, 1975-
  • Boulder County (Colorado) area key : a study of the genealogical record sources of Boulder County, Colorado, including maps, history, addresses / compiled by Florence Runyan Clint. Denver, CO : Eden Press, c1969.

Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Grand CountyLarimer CountyWeld CountyAdams CountyGilpin CountyJefferson CountyCO BOULDER.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Boulder County has numerous maps available online here: Maps

Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Colorado. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Colorado Military Records.

All Veterans

Civil War

Spanish-American War (1898)

World War I

Vietnam War

For further information see Colorado Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Records

Newspapers

For more information, see Colorado Newspapers.

Colorado Newspapers Online

Colorado Newspaper Catalogs

Microfilm of old newspapers is available at the Boulder Public Library and at the Longmont Public Library. The Longmont collection includes issues from 1872 to the present. See Longmont Newspapers


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.


1941-1943 Boulder County Inheritance Tax Records Index (1941-1943) is one of many On-Line Indexes available at the Colorado State Archives website.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

See also Colorado Vital Records.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [11]

Boulder County Public Health can issue certified birth certificates for births occurring anywhere in Colorado from 1904 to present day. They only issue certified copies of birth certificates.

Only the person named on the record or members of the immediate family, legal representatives of those named above, or others demonstrating a direct and tangible interest in the record may request a copy if the birth occurred within the last 100 years as stated above. Proof of your relationship or direct and tangible interest is required.

Birth & Death Certificates

Boulder: (303) 441-1100
Longmont: (303) 678-6166

Marriage

The Boulder County Recorder's office will search their indexes if you call or come in to the office. If a record is found, a copy can be purchased in person or by mail. Call (303) 413-7770 and press 0 to speak to a clerk.

Online Records

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [11]

Certified copies of death certificates may be issued to: parents; grandparents; stepparents; siblings; spouse; adult children, stepchildren, or grandchildren of the deceased; legal representatives of any of the above; legal representatives of the deceased; probate researchers; genealogists representing family members with appropriate credentials; others who may demonstrate a direct and tangible interest when information is needed for determination or protection of a personal property right. Proof of your relationship or direct and tangible interest is required.

Divorce

Boulder County divorces take place in Colorado’s 20th Judicial District. To obtain copies of divorce records there are fees for searching and for copies.

Boulder County Combined Courts Research Department (303) 441-4860 Combined Courts Research Department

Online Records

Research Facilities

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Boulder County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
1880-1939 Divorce Index
1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
1897-1920 Horseshoers
1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths 1862-1900 Boulder County Probates
1871-1872 Boulder County Rights of Way Cases
1892-1906 Boulder County Birth Index
1904-1918 Boulder County Divorce
1914-1934 Boulder County Mothers Compensations
1933-1936 Boulder County Old Age Pension
1941-1943 Boulder County Inheritance Tax Records

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Boulder Public Library
1000 Canyon Blvd
Boulder, CO 80302
Phone: (303) 441-3100
Website

Lafayette Public Library
775 W Baseline Rd
Lafayette, CO 80026
Phone: (303) 665-5200
Website

Longmont Public Library
409 4th Ave
Longmont, CO 80501
Website

Louisville Public Library
951 Spruce Street
Louisville, CO 80027
Phone: (303) 335-4849
Website

Lyons Depot Library
430 Fifth Avenue
Lyons, CO 80540
Phone: (303) 823-5165
Website

Nederland Community Library
750 N. Highway 72
Nederland, CO 80466
Phone: (303) 258-1101
Website

Museums

Societies

Boulder Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 3246
Boulder, CO 80307-3246
Website

Longmont Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 6081
Longmont, CO 80501-2077
Website

St. Vrain Historical Society
P.O. Box 705
Longmont, Colorado 80502-0705
Telephone Number: 303-776-1870
Website

Broomfield Genealogy Society
Broomfield, CO
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Boulder County, Colorado Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/colo/boulder/ 6/27/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Boulder County, Colorado. Page 97At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Boulder County, Colorado. Page 97 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 92.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Boulder County, Colorado," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boulder_County,_Colorado, accessed May 12, 2017.
  7. Noel, Thomas J. and Dan W. Corson. Boulder County, An Illustrated History.; Carlsbad, California; Heritage Media Corporation: 1999. pp 63-65.
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 51-54; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 86. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  9. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 54.
  10. 10.00 10.01 10.02 10.03 10.04 10.05 10.06 10.07 10.08 10.09 10.10 10.11 Colorado Online Historical Newspapers, https://sites.google.com/site/onlinenewspapersite/Home/usa/co, accessed 19 July 2013.
  11. 11.0 11.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov


Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Boulder_County,_Colorado_Genealogy&oldid=3064412"