Botkyrka Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Botkyrka Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
The municipality is named after Saint Botvid, a Christian missionary during the 12th century. Saint Botvid is shown on the seal and coat of arms of Botkyrka Municipality, where he carries an axe and a fish. Another remnant of Botkyrka's Christian medieval history is the Botkyrka church, made of stone.
In 2017, Botkyrka was one of three municipalities in Sweden with a population majority of foreign background. Foreign background is officially defined as being either born abroad or having both parents born abroad.
Alby, Alby Gäststuga, Asptorp, Aspudden,
Barnslätt, Stora Bastnäs, Lilla Bastnäs, Brandtbrink, Broängen, Broängshagen, Brunna, Brunsta, Båtmanstorp Hamra, Bäcken,
Carlberg, Cathrineberg, Christineberg,
Dahl lilla, Dahl stora, Djupvik, Dragstorp,
Elfsta, Elfsta Grindstugan, Elfsta Qvarn, Elgenstorp, Elg-Kärret, Enbytorp, Eriksberg,
Fattighuset, Fittja, Fittja fångstation, Fittjha Wärdshus,Fjällsbacken, Flottsbro Norra, Flottbro Östra, Flygarstugan,
Gatmöte, Golfäng, Granmora, Grindtorp, Grufstugan, Gustafsdal, Gröndal,
Hagen, Hallunda, Hammarby, Hammarsta, Hammarstalund, Hamra Vestra gården, Hamra Östra gården, amra Sjöstugan, Harbro, Himmelsboda, Hofsta, Hogelby Västra gården, Hogelby Östra gården, Hogelby Hage, Hogelby Krog, Häggesta, Hässle, Hästhagen lilla, Hästhagen stora, Högel Räftorp,
Kattsmyran, Kersby, Kersdal, Kestadal, Kjälltorp, Kjällvik, Klockaregård, Korshagen, Korstorp, Kumla, Kyrkbyn, Kärrhagen,
Lida Stora, Lila lilla, Lindhof, Lill Tumba, Lindhofsvreten, Liljelund, Lottelund, Loviseberg, Läkare bostaden (Doctor residence),
Mellanberg, Mossetorp, Munkhätten stora, Munkhättan lilla, Månstorp,
Nackdala lilla, Nackdala stora, Nickoxa, Norsborg, Nybbletorp, Nynäs, Näsby, Näsby Grindstuga, Näsby Holme, Nybygget, Nyrödjan, Nyängen,
Peterstorp, Petersborg, Påland, Pålstorp,
Riksten, Rikstenbrog, Rikstensqvarn, Rosenberg, Rosendal,
Sandstugan, Segerböhle, Sillvikstorp, Skansberg, Skarpbrunna, Skogsjötorp, Skomakar torp, Skogstorp, Skräfsta, Skyttetorp, Skårdal, Skörtbrink, Skäcklinge, Slagsta, Slagsta grindstuga, Solbacken, Spåntorp, Stendal, Sturehof, Storkentorp, Stökhagen, Sundsberg, Sågbacken, Sågtorp, Skolhuset, Sjöängen,
Tomtberga, Tullinge, Tullinge Sågstuga, Tumba, Tumba Brink, Tumba Lastageplats, Tumba Nedergård, Tuna, Tunaberg, Trädgårdstorp,
Wattran, Wennersborg, Wreten Stora, Wreten, Wrån,
Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR ($).
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Stockholm Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Stockholm and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Riksarkivet. "Botkyrka" Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). January 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/
Botkyrka parish, Husförhörslängd, 1845-1850, Ort register.