Botkyrka Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Botkyrka parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Stockholm County
Botkyrka


Guide to Botkyrka Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

The municipality is named after Saint Botvid, a Christian missionary during the 12th century. Saint Botvid is shown on the seal and coat of arms of Botkyrka Municipality, where he carries an axe and a fish. Another remnant of Botkyrka's Christian medieval history is the Botkyrka church, made of stone.
In 2017, Botkyrka was one of three municipalities in Sweden with a population majority of foreign background. Foreign background is officially defined as being either born abroad or having both parents born abroad.
[1]

Botkyrka Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län 1634-1639 Uppsala, 1640-1647 Stockholm, 1648-1651 Uppsala, 1652-1653 Stockholm, 1654-1688 Uppsala, 1689-1719 Södermanland, 1720- Stockholm
Landskap Uppland
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


Place Names

Alby, Alby Gäststuga, Asptorp, Aspudden,

Barnslätt, Stora Bastnäs, Lilla Bastnäs, Brandtbrink, Broängen, Broängshagen, Brunna, Brunsta, Båtmanstorp Hamra, Bäcken,

Carlberg, Cathrineberg, Christineberg,

Dahl lilla, Dahl stora, Djupvik, Dragstorp,

Elfsta, Elfsta Grindstugan, Elfsta Qvarn, Elgenstorp, Elg-Kärret, Enbytorp, Eriksberg,

Fattighuset, Fittja, Fittja fångstation, Fittjha Wärdshus,Fjällsbacken, Flottsbro Norra, Flottbro Östra, Flygarstugan,

Gatmöte, Golfäng, Granmora, Grindtorp, Grufstugan, Gustafsdal, Gröndal,

Hagen, Hallunda, Hammarby, Hammarsta, Hammarstalund, Hamra Vestra gården, Hamra Östra gården, amra Sjöstugan, Harbro, Himmelsboda, Hofsta, Hogelby Västra gården, Hogelby Östra gården,  Hogelby Hage, Hogelby Krog, Häggesta, Hässle, Hästhagen lilla, Hästhagen stora, Högel Räftorp,

Jacobsberg,

Kattsmyran, Kersby, Kersdal, Kestadal, Kjälltorp, Kjällvik, Klockaregård, Korshagen, Korstorp, Kumla, Kyrkbyn, Kärrhagen,

Lida Stora, Lila lilla, Lindhof, Lill Tumba, Lindhofsvreten, Liljelund, Lottelund, Loviseberg, Läkare bostaden (Doctor residence),

Mellanberg, Mossetorp, Munkhätten stora, Munkhättan  lilla, Månstorp,

Nackdala lilla, Nackdala stora, Nickoxa, Norsborg, Nybbletorp, Nynäs, Näsby, Näsby Grindstuga, Näsby Holme, Nybygget, Nyrödjan, Nyängen,

Oxhagen, Oxöga,

Peterstorp, Petersborg, Påland, Pålstorp,

Qvarnhagen,

Riksten, Rikstenbrog, Rikstensqvarn, Rosenberg, Rosendal,

Sandstugan, Segerböhle, Sillvikstorp, Skansberg, Skarpbrunna, Skogsjötorp, Skomakar torp, Skogstorp, Skräfsta, Skyttetorp, Skårdal, Skörtbrink, Skäcklinge, Slagsta, Slagsta grindstuga, Solbacken, Spåntorp, Stendal, Sturehof, Storkentorp, Stökhagen, Sundsberg, Sågbacken, Sågtorp, Skolhuset, Sjöängen,

Tomtberga, Tullinge, Tullinge Sågstuga, Tumba, Tumba Brink, Tumba Lastageplats, Tumba Nedergård, Tuna, Tunaberg, Trädgårdstorp,

Underhållet, Ursvik,

Wattran, Wennersborg, Wreten Stora, Wreten, Wrån,

Ådalen, Åtorp,

Österäng.

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Stockholm Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Stockholm and then select your parish.


Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Riksarkivet. "Botkyrka" Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). January 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/

Botkyrka parish, Husförhörslängd, 1845-1850, Ort register.