To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Botetourt County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Botetourt County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Botetourt County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Botetourt County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Botetourt County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1769
County Seat Fincastle
Courthouse
VirginiaBotetourtCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Botetourt County is located in the Western portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named after popular governor Lord Botetourt, who was regarded as the best of governors[1].

Botetourt County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Botetourt County Courthouse
Box 219
Fincastle, Virginia 24090
Phone: 540-473-8274
Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1870,
marriage, divorce, probate, land, court and cemetery records from 1770[2]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1770 1853 1770 1770 1770 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Botetourt County Virginia History[edit | edit source]

Norborne Berkeley, 4th Baron de Botetourt (c1717-1770)

The county was named after Norborne Berkeley, 4th Baron de Botetourt (c1717-1770). Berkeley, formerly a Member of British Parliament, served as Virginia's Royal Governor at the time of Botetourt County's organization.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

7 November 1769: Botetourt County was created from Augusta County.
County seat: Fincastle [2]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Fire.png

1970 Pre-1830 chancery papers, and pre-1854 judgements were water-damaged during a courthouse fire on 15 December 1970.[6]

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.


For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Botetourt County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Botetourt County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1961):131-134. Online at: American Ancestors ($).

African American[edit | edit source]

  • Botetourt County Personal Property Tax List 1783-1822. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • Free Negroes Registered in the Clerk's Office, Botetourt County, Virginia, 1802-1836. 1993. By Dorothy A. Boyd-Rush. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL Collection

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:


Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

For a more detailed list, including addresses and external links, see Botetourt County, Virginia Cemeteries.

The following is a list of cemeteries in Botetourt County: [7]

  • Anderson Cemetery
  • Blue Ridge Cemetery
  • Booze Cemetery
  • Boyer Cemetery
  • Bryant Cemetery
  • Churchill Cemetery
  • Crawford Cemetery
  • Deisher Cemetery
  • Fairview Cemetery
  • Greenfield Cemetery
  • Haden Cemetery
  • Houseman Cemetery
  • King Memorial Cemetery
  • Laymantown Cemetery
  • Linkenhoker Cemetery
  • Mays Cemetery
  • McKalester Cemetery
  • Mount Olivet Cemetery
  • Old Dominion Memorial Gardens
  • Peck Cemetery
  • Peery Cemetery
  • Piney Grove Cemetery
  • Pleasant Chapel Cemetery
  • Ponton Cemetery
  • Riley Cemetery
  • Roanoke Cemetery
  • Robinson Cemetery
  • Rudisill Cemetery
  • Saint Clair Cemetery
  • Shafer Cemetery
  • Simmons Cemetery
  • Smith Cemetery
  • Thompson Cemeteries
  • Tucker Cemetery
  • Watson Cemetery
  • Wesley Chapel Cemetery

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 10,524
1800 10,427 −0.9%
1810 13,301 27.6%
1820 13,589 2.2%
1830 16,354 20.3%
1840 11,679 −28.6%
1850 14,908 27.6%
1860 11,516 −22.8%
1870 11,329 −1.6%
1880 14,809 30.7%
1890 14,854 0.3%
1900 17,161 15.5%
1910 17,727 3.3%
1920 16,557 −6.6%
1930 15,457 −6.6%
1940 16,447 6.4%
1950 15,766 −4.1%
1960 16,715 6.0%
1970 18,193 8.8%
1980 23,270 27.9%
1990 24,992 7.4%
2000 30,496 22.0%
Source: u "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1785[edit | edit source]

1790[edit | edit source]

Lost, only statistics survive. 

1800[edit | edit source]

Lost, only statistics survive. 

1810[edit | edit source]

  • 1810 Census of Botetourt County, Virginia. 1968. By Madeline W. Crickard. Beverly, WVA: Crickard. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL Collection.

1890 Union Veterans[edit | edit source]

Church History and Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist[edit | edit source]

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Mill Creek (1804).[8] A bicentennial history was published in 2004: Touch of History, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Dec. 2004). Another history was published in 1987: Appalachian Heritage, Vol. 15, No. 4 (Fall 1987).
  2. Rock Spring (1804)[8]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.

Botetourt County fell within the bounds of the Strawberry Association.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

go to See also Botetourt Parish

Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Botetourt County is available online.[9]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Several of the original order books (which begin in 1770) do not contain handwritten prosecutors' indexes. Some of the entries were abstracted in Annals of Southwest Virginia, which serves as a partial index, see:

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

More than 75 genealogies have been published about Botetourt County families. To view a list, visit Botetourt County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.

  • Most Distinguished Characters of the American Frontier : Robert Looney (b 1692-1702 d 1770) of Augusta (now Botetourt) County, Virginia and Some of His Descendants with Histories of the Great Road, Looney's Ferry, Crow's Ferry, Anderson's Ferry, Boyd's Ferry and Beale's Bridge. c1998-2008. By Madge Looney Crane, Phillip L. Crane. Apollo, Pennsylvania : Closson Press. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • The descendants of John Little of Botetourt and Rockbridge Counties, Virginia. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • William Cross of Botecourt Co., Va., and His Descendants, 1733-1932. Online at: Ancestry ($).

Immigration[edit | edit source]

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Brunswick County are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 5 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Fincastle and Bottetout County [sic].[5]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

An early settlers map is available for Botetourt County. The cartographer plots the locations of pioneers from 1770-1820. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.583 E7h.

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

  • Botetourt County, Virginia Patents 1740-1803 (Partially Placed on a Map). 2004. By Hudgins. DeedMapper. Online at: Directline Software ($).
Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing). However, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper
  • Commonwealth's (Land) Grants or Patents, Botetourt County, Va., 1770-1802. By Nell Marion Nugent. n.d. : n.d. Online at: FamilySearch Online Books.
  • Sims Index to Land Grants in West Virginia. c1992. By Edgar Barr Sims. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. FHL.

Surveys

  • Botetourt County, Virginia, First Surveys. By Pollyanna Creekmore. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan. - Mar. 1964):3-13. CD available at: American Ancestors ($).

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • A Seed-Bed of the Republic : A Study of the Pioneers in the Upper (Southern) Valley of Virginia. c1962. By Robert Douthat Stoner, Roanoke Valley Historical Society (Roanoke, Virginia). n.p. : R.D. Stoner. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Botetourt Bicentennial : Souvenir Program and History Celebrating the Two Hundredth Anniversary of Botetourt County, Virginia. 1970. By Botetourt County American Bicentennial Commission. Publication Committee. n.p. : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Geneanet ($)
  • Botetourt County, Virginia, Early Settlers: From the Earliest Times through 1795, in the Area that was Botetourt County in 1782, Covers Parts of Present-day Counties of Montgomery, Bath, Giles, Floyd, Alleghany, Roanoke, Craig and Monroe. 1979. By Charles T. Burton. Troutville, Virginia : n.p. Available at FHL.
  • Botetourt County, Virginia : Heritage Book 1770-2000. 2000. By Botetourt Heritage Book Committee (Virginia). [S.l.] : Walsworth Publishing Company. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Botetourt County, Virginia Information. Virginia USGenWeb Archives
  • Botetourt County History Before 1800. 1982. By J. William Austin, Jr., Rebecca H. R. Austin, Botetourt County American Bicentennial Commission. Publication Committee. Fincastle, Virginia : Publication Committee, Botetourt County American Bicentennial Commission. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Community Development in Botetourt County : 1770-1783 Part V (Kegley's Virginia Frontier). 1938. By F. B. Kegley, Southwest Virginia Historical Society. Roanoke, Virginia : Southwest Virginia Historical Society. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • History of Botetourt County 1770-1783. 1903. By Lewis Preston Summers. Online at: Genealogy Trails History Group.
  • Places Near the Mountains: From the Community of Amsterdam, Virginia Up the Road to Catawba, on the Waters of the Catawba and Tinker Creeks, Along the Carolina Road as it Approached Big Lick and Other Areas, Primarily North Roanoke (Botetourt and Roanoke Counties, Virginia). 2002. By Helen R. Prillaman. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: Ancestry($), FHL. Alternative title: Places Near the Mountains (Botetourt and Roanoke Counties, Virginia).

Maps[edit | edit source]

Bedford (Independent City)Roanoke (Independent City)Roanoke CountyBedford CountyCraig CountyAlleghany CountyRockbridge CountyVA Botetourt.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • Historical Map of the Roanoke Historical Society Showing Botetourt County, Virginia, 1770-1820. 1965. By John R. Hildebrand, F.B. Kegley, and Roanoke Valley Historical Society. Available at FHL. Includes historical notes and list of prominent men.[10]

Military[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War[edit | edit source]

  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL. Identifies some Botetourt County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.

Dunmore's War[edit | edit source]

  • Augusta, Bedford, Botetourt, Culpeper and Fincastle Payrolls and Public Service Claims, 1775: Also Known as Dunmore's War: Enlarged and Photocopied. Fort Wayne, Indiana: Allen County Public Library, 2004. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
  • Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. By William Armstrong Crozier. 1954. Baltimore : Southern Book Co. Online at: Internet Archive, Hathitrust, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat). Identifies some Botetourt County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Botetourt County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Botetourt County supplied soldiers for the:

- 7th Virginia Regiment
- 12th Virginia Regiment (5th and 10th Companies)[11]

Additional resources:

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Online at: U.S. Census Bureau, Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Augusta County on page 133.
  • Early Marriages, Wills, and Some Revolutionary War Records: Botetourt County, Virginia. 1976. By Anne Lowry Worrell. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. (Originally published: Hillsville, Va.: A.L. Worrell, 1958.) FHL Collection.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969 and 1991. Reprints include an Added Index to States. Online at: Ancestry. FHL Collection. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. c1913. By J. T. McAllister. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).

War of 1812[edit | edit source]

Botetourt County men served in the 48th and 121st Regiments.[12]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Botetourt County, p. 64.
  • Military - First Surveys 1770-1772; Veterans of War of 1812 (1899). Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($).

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Botetourt County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Botetourt County, Virginia Genealogy:

- 5th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry, Artillery, and Infantry) (Confederate). Company H may have been recruited in Botetourt County.[13]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).[14]
- 28th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Blue Ridge Rifles) and Company I (Mountain Rifles).[15]
- 57th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Botetourt Guards).[16]
- 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company K (The Osceola Guards).[17]

Records and histories are available, including:

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]


Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Botetourt County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Mercantile Adventures in Early Virginia, John Stewart, Tailor of Augusta and Botetourt Counties. By William C. Stewart. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1967):3-11; Vol. 11, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1967):61-66. Online at: American Ancestors ($), FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. By George Barton Cutten. 1952. Richmond, Virginia : The Dietz Press, Incorporated. Online at: Hathitrust; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a section on Fincastle silversmiths.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin

Genealogical articles with abstracts of Botetourt County, Virginia records have been published in the Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin (39+ vols., 1972-present), the journal of the Watauga Association of Genealogists. The Family History Library has a complete collection FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w, including Margaret W. Hougland and Betty Jane Hylton's Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL US/CAN Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

A free index to Botetourt County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1770-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.

  • Deeds - General Index 1770-1889; Index to Deeds and Estates 1824-1829 Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • Digital Images of Botetourt County Wills; 1824-1829; 1829-1838. See names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • Early Marriages, Wills, and Some Revolutionary War Records: Botetourt County, Virginia. 1976. By Anne Lowry Worrell. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. (Originally published: Hillsville, Va.: A.L. Worrell, 1958.) FHL Collection.
  • Probate - Images of Wills 1824-1829; 1829-1838 Virginia Pioneers ($)

Online Probate links

  • 1639 – 1850 - Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850. Online at: Ancestry ($)

Taxation[edit | edit source]

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

  • 1770-1789 - Botetourt County, Virginia Lists of Tithables, 1770-1789. Original records, Botetourt County Courthouse, Fincastle, Virginia; also available on microfilm at FHL.
  • 1770-1771 - Botetourt County, Virginia, Tithables, 1770-1771. By Pollyanna Creekmore. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1966):51-56; Vol. 10, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1966):109-122. CD available at: American Ancestors ($), FHL.
  • 1770-1777 - Botetourt County, Virginia, Its Men, 1770-1777. 1949. By Charles T. Burton. Troutville, Virginia : C.T. Burton. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online. Contains names of tithable men in Botetourt Co., 1770-1777. Includes delinquent lists.
  • 1770-1773 - New River Tithables, 1770-1773. 1972. By Mary B. Kegley. Wytheville, Virginia : M.B. Kegley. Available at FHL.
  • 1782 - Tithables, 1782. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 33, No. 3 (Summer 1995). Online at: Ancestry ($),FHL.
  • 1782 - Land Tax List, 1782. Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 3, Nos. 1-2 (1974).
  • Pre-1783 - County Delinquents List, Pre-Revoluntionary War Period. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 41, No. 3 (Aug. 2003). Available at FHL.
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1783-1810 - Botetourt County Personal Property Tax Lists 1783-1810 (images). Online at: Binns Genealogy ($). See Tax List Club.
  • 1783-1822 - Botetourt County Personal Property Tax List 1783-1822. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1784 - 1784 Personal Property Tax List online at Genealogy Trails.
  • 1784 - 1784 Botetourt County, Virginia Tax Listing. 2012. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, Tennessee : Mountain Press. Mountain Press ($). Free online surname index.
  • 1784 - Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940. By Augusta B. Fothergill and John Mark Naugle. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, FHL. Includes personal property tax list of Botetourt County.
  • 1786 - 1786 Personal Property Tax List online at Genealogy Trails.
  • 1787 - The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Botetourt County is included in Vol. 1.
  • 1789 - 1789 Personal Property Tax List of Botetourt County, Virginia. Online at: Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1794 - 1794 Botetourt County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List. Online at: New River Notes.
  • 1799 - 1799 Personal Property Tax List of Botetourt County, Virginia. Online at: Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1800 - Botetourt County, Virginia 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1965):105-110; Vol. 9, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1965):154-158; Vol. 10, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1966):11-17. Online at: American Ancestors ($), FHL.
  • 1815 - 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 1997-2000. By Roger D. Ward. Athens, Georgia : Iberian Pub. Co. 6 vols. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Botetourt County is included in Vol. 5.
  • 1852 - Taxable Property of Botetourt, 1852. Roanoke Historical Society Journal, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Winter 1969).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes to Botetourt County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Botetourt County, Virginia Genealogy deaths are online in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by The Virginia Genealogical Society.

Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.


Botetourt County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Botetourt County Historical Society
1 West Main Street
P O Box 468
Fincastle, Virginia 24090
540-473-8394

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Botetourt County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Botetourt County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.visitroanokeva.com/region/cities-and-counties/botetourt-county/history/
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Botetourt County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Botetourt County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  4. A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census] (1841), 133-134. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840.
  5. 5.0 5.1 Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 325. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  6. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 4, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  7. USGS Map, Topozone.com
  8. 8.0 8.1 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 338-339. Digital version at Google Books.
  9. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  10. FamilySearch Catalog, FamilySearch, www.familysearch.org.
  11. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 67-68. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  12. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 54. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  13. The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
  14. Robert T. Bell, 11th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 20.
  15. Frank E. Fields, 28th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 15.
  16. Charles W. Sublett, 57th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 21.
  17. J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.
  18. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.