To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bosnia and Herzegovina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bosnia and Herzegovina Wiki Topics
Flag of Bosnia and Herzegovina.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bosnia and Herzegovina Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Bosnia and Herzegovina ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Bosnia and Herzegovina is a country in Europe bordered by Croatia, Serbia, and Montenegro. It was formerly ruled by the Ottoman Empire and the Austro-Hungarian Empire. De facto official languages are Bosnian, Croatian, and Serbian.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Bosnia and Herzegovina Research

Links to articles on getting started with Bosnia and Herzegovina research.

Bosnia and Herzegovina Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Bosnia and Herzegovina research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Bosnia and Herzegovina Map[edit | edit source]

Bosnia and Hrzogovine Cantons.png

Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Genealogicaly records are kept on the local level in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Cantons of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina:

  • Bosnian Podrinje
  • Canton 10
  • Central Bosnia
  • Herzegovina-Neretva
  • Posavina
  • Sarajevo
  • Tuzla
  • Una-Sana
  • West Herzegovina
  • Zenica-Doboj

Cities of Republika Srpska:

  • Grad Banja Luka
  • Grad Bijeljina
  • Grad Doboj
  • Grad Istočno Sarajevo
  • Grad Prijedor
  • Grad Trebinje

Municipalities of Republika Srpska:

  • Berkovići
  • Bileća
  • Brod
  • Bratunac
  • Čajniče
  • Čelinac
  • Derventa
  • Donji Žabar
  • Foča
  • Gacko
  • Gradiška
  • Han Pijesak
  • Istočni Drvar
  • Istočna Ilidža
  • Istočni Mostar
  • Istočni Stari Grad
  • Istočno Novo Sarajevo
  • Jezero
  • Kalinovik
  • Kneževo
  • Kostajnica
  • Kozarska Dubica
  • Kotor Varoš
  • Krupa na Uni
  • Kupres
  • Laktaši
  • Ljubinje
  • Lopare
  • Milići
  • Modriča
  • Mrkonjić Grad
  • Nevesinje
  • Novi Grad
  • Novo Goražde
  • Osmaci
  • Oštra Luka
  • Pale
  • Pelagićevo
  • Petrovac
  • Petrovo
  • Prnjavor
  • Ribnik
  • Rogatica
  • Rudo
  • Stanari
  • Šamac
  • Šekovići
  • Šipovo
  • Sokolac
  • Srbac
  • Srebrenica
  • Teslić
  • Trnovo
  • Ugljevik
  • Višegrad
  • Vlasenica
  • Vukosavlje
  • Zvornik

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.



References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Bosnia and Herzegovina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bosnia_and_Herzegovina, accessed 4 May 2016.