Bornholm County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bornholm County, Denmark)
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Denmark
Bornholm County
Bornholm-Denmark.png

Guide to Bornholm ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

History

Some scholars believe that the Burgundians are named after Bornholm; the Burgundians were Germanic people who moved west when the Western Roman Empire collapsed and they occupied Burgundy in France.
Swedish forces conquered the island in 1645, but returned the island to Denmark in the following peace settlement. After the war in 1658, Denmark ceded the island to Sweden under the Treaty of Roskilde.
Bornholm, as a part of Denmark, was captured by Germany on 10 April 1940, and served as a lookout post and listening station during the war, as it was a part of the Eastern Front. During the Soviet bombing of the two main towns on the 7th and 8th of May, Danish radio was not allowed to broadcast the news because it was thought it would spoil the liberation festivities in Denmark.
[1]

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below. .

Districts

  • Nørre Herred
  • Sønder Herred
  • Vester Herred
  • Øster Herred

Parishes

Allinge-SandvigHasleOlskerRøØster LarskerØster MarieGudhjemIbskerVester MarieNylarskerPederskerBodilskerChristiansøRutskerAllinge-Sandvig CityKlemenskerNykerKnudskerRønne CityNylarskerPovlskerNeksø CityÅkirkeby CityÅkerSvaneke CityBornholm County Map FSW.jpg

Church Records

Bornholm church records index before 1814

Estates

  • Bornholms Amtstuedistrikts gods

Census Records

Military

Probates

Archives, Societies, and Libraries

(enter archive, society, library contact information)