Borley, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Borley


Guide to Borley, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Borley, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Sudbury
Registration District Sudbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1652
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hedingham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Peculiar Deanery of Bocking; Post-1844 - Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Borley, is a parish in the district of Sudbury and county of Essex; it is on the verge of the county, at the river stour, 2 1/4 miles NW of Sudbury railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Borley Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1653
1709
1656
Images 1653-1988 EssexAncestors[2] 1709-1948 EssexAncestors[2] 1656-1812 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1653-1806 FreeREG[3] 1709-1754 FreeREG[3] 1656-1806 FreeREG[3]
1707-1836 findmypast[4] 1656-1806 findmypast[5]

There is a gap in burials for 1660 to 1669.[3]

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Borley on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 15 April 2012.
  4. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.