Borgholm Parish, Kalmar, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Borgholm Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
Borgholm Municipality is a municipality in Kalmar County, in south-eastern Sweden, constituting the northern half of the island of Öland in the Baltic Sea. The municipal seat is located in the city of Borgholm.
The local government reform in the 1970s saw the creation of two municipalities on the island of Öland. Borgholm Municipality is the northern of the two and consists of sixteen original entities. The southern half of the island is made up of Mörbylånga Municipality.
|Borgholm Parish, Kalmar, Sweden Genealogy|
|Militär indelning||add here|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/VALA/00041|
|National Archive SVAR||link|
|SCB Congregation map||link|
|Open Street map||link|
Borgholm was divided into blocks of houses. Each block was called a Kvarter. Each Kvarter was given a name. One or more numbers were also given to each Kvarter. The names of each Kvarter and their numbers as they were in 1849-1856 follow:
Gripen 27 - 28
Herkules 29- 32
Island 33- 36
Kamelen 37-38, Kuba 9-12, Kvarnen 59-62
Månen 43- 46
Orion 51 – 54
Sverige 68- 70,
Åland 83-96, Ängeln 19-21
Other places within Borgholm named in the household examination:
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Kalmar Church Records, 1577-1907; index 1625-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Kalmat Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Kalmar and then select your parish.
- PLF Database -- A large portion of births, marriages, and deaths have been indexed on CD-Roms for the county of Kalmar. The 4 disc set has been created by Person-och Lokalhistoriskt Forskarcentrum, Oskarshamn (PLF). To learn more about these CD-Roms click here.
- Nixon -- a name index of Biographical and genealogical information for Kalmar and a few other counties. To learn more click here.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Borgholm, Husförhörslängd 1849-1856