Borås Gustaf Adolf Parish, Älvsborg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Älvsborg County
Borås Gustaf Adolf Parish


Guide to Borås: Gustaf Adolf Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

Before 1911, Borås was a part of Torpa parish. In 1939, Borås split into Borås Caroli and Borås Gustav Adolf. A small portion of the city belongs to Brämhults församling.[1]

Borås Gustaf Adolf Parish, Älvsborg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Älvsborg
Landskap add here
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


Place Names


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Älvsborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Älvsborg" and then select your parish.


Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Borås," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://sv.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bor%C3%A5s, accessed 28 December 2017.