Borås Caroli Parish, Älvsborg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Älvsborg County
Borås Caroli Parish


Guide to Borås: Caroli Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Borås Church
Caroli Church.jpg

History

Borås Municipality is a municipality in Västra Götaland County in western Sweden. Its seat is located in the city of Borås.
In 1971 the City of Borås was made a municipality when the unitary type of local government unit was introduced in Sweden. Three years later a lot of surrounding municipalities were united with Borås and in 1995 the western part was split off, creating Bollebygd Municipality.
In the 1990s the municipal assembly decided to use the name Borås stad or City of Borås whenever possible, for the whole municipality, including rural areas.
[1]

Borås Caroli Parish, Älvsborg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Älvsborg
Landskap add here
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here
NAD Ref Code SE/GLA/15673
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names:

Caroli is a city, and does not have a small place index.  Cities are mostly devided into "roter", and "kvarter".


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Älvsborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Älvsborg" and then select your parish.


Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References