Boone County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Boone County
 

Guide to Boone County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Harrison
Organized: April 9, 1869
Parent County(s): Carrol and Madison[1]
Neighboring Counties
Carroll  • Marion  • Newton  • Searcy  • Taney (MO)
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasBooneCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-boone.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for anyone who settled here, it would be a "boon." The "e" was added to the name later.. The County Seat is Harrison and was founded April 9, 1869.[2] It is located in the northwestern area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Boone County Courthouse
100 N Main Street
Harrison, AR 72602
Phone: 870.741.8428
Boone County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1869.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[4]

Boone County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1869 1914* 1869 1869 1869 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1869--Boone County was created 9 April 1869 from Carrol and Madison Counties. 
  • County seat: Harrison[6]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

he following are locations in the county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Townships


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Boone County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture.[8]

  • Pre 1808 - Although they had no communities in the area, the Osage had claims to what would become Boone County until an 1808 treaty.
  • 1812 - The area was part of Missouri Territory.
  • 1869 - The Arkansas legislature created Boone County from Carroll County.
  • 1875 - A portion of Marion County was taken in by Boone County.
  • 1900s - Change came with the arrival of the Missouri and North Arkansas Railroad.
  • 1900-1910 - The African-American population, which had shown limited growth in each census since 1870, decreased from 142 to seven.
  • 1920s-1930s - Hard times forced many families to seek jobs outside the county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Boone, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 7,032
1880 12,146 72.7%
1890 15,816 30.2%
1900 16,396 3.7%
1910 14,318 −12.7%
1920 16,098 12.4%
1930 14,937 −7.2%
1940 15,860 6.2%
1950 16,260 2.5%
1960 16,116 −0.9%
1970 19,073 18.3%
1980 26,067 36.7%
1990 28,297 8.6%
2000 33,948 20.0%
2010 36,903 8.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1869-1970 Boone County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds and letters 1869-1919; Chancery Court records 1870-1891; County court records 1869-1874; Guardian bonds and letters 1869-1914; Probate record index 1869-1970; Probate records 1869-1894; Wills 1872-1926.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Ware, Keith. "Boone County hatchery" Boone County historian (Arkansas) - v. 2-3 (2004-2005) - v. 3, no. 4 (Oct./Dec. 2005).
  • Crooked Creek Valley, Arkansas before and during the Civil War : ca. 1827-1865.
  • Logan, Roger V., Jr. Mountain heritage : some glimpses into Boone County's past after one hundred yearsHarrison, Arkansas : Harrison Junior Chamber of Commerce, 1969.

Maps and Gazetteers

Barry CountyStone CountyTaney CountyOzark CountyCarroll CountyMarion CountyMadison CountyNewton CountySearcy County250x
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Boone County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb . Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb . Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Boone County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boone_County,_Arkansas.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Boone County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boone_County,_Arkansas.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Boone County, Arkansas. Page 67 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 65.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Boone County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boone_County,_Arkansas, accessed 29 August 2018.
  8. C. J. Miller, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=749&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 11, 2016), “Boone County.”
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  10. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.