Bolton by Bolland, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Bolton by Bolland, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bolton by Bolland, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Staincliff and Ewcross|
|Poor Law Union||North Bierley|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BOLTON-BY-BOWLAND (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Clitheroe, wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 3½ miles (W.) from Gisburn, and 15 (W. by S.) from Skipton; containing 993 inhabitants. The Independents have a place of worship. 
BOLTON-BY-BOWLAND, or West Bolton, a parish in the district of Clitheroe and W. R. Yorkshire.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Bolton by Bolland exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|IARC = Archive.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|BOLTON BY BOLLAND PARISH (1558) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1558.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.