Bolsover, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Bolsover, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bolsover St Mary &St Laurence Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Chesterfield|
|Registration District||Chesterfield; Mansfield|
|Parish registers: 1603|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1668|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Bolsover St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Glapwell, Glopwell, Ockley, Oxcroft, Shottlewood, Shuttlewood, Stanfree, Whaley, Woodhouse, and Woodside.
BOLSOVER (St. Mary), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 6 miles (E. by S.) from Chesterfield, 28½ (N. N. E.) from Derby, and 145½ (N. by W.) from London with the hamlets of Glapwell, Ockley, Whaley, Oxcroft, Stanfree, Shuttlewood, Woodside, and Woodhouse. This place, was called Belesoure prior to the Conquest. The Wesleyans and Independents have places of worship; that belonging to the latter was formerly a Presbyterian chapel. .
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Cemetery[edit | edit source]
Whaley Thomas - St. Luke's. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions of Whaley Thomas - St Lukes, in the District of Bolsover, dating from 1881. There are two inscriptions on each side of the Altar, carved in wood, remembering those killed in action in 1914-1918, and 1939-1945 World Wars. Article to be found in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 93, pages 29-42, Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n
Church records[edit | edit source]
Bolsover parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|Bolsover St Mary Parish (1603) Online Records|
To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Bolsover St Mary and St Laurence
After a fire in the 1960's the surviving baptismal 1714-1756 and burial registers for 1714-1746 are incomplete.
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 190 has deposited registers Bap 1603-1751, 1813-1873, 1953-1968 Mar 1603-1714, 1755-1941,1959 Burials 1603-1646,1653-1746,1813-1898 Banns 1653-1657,1952-1984
Whaley Thorns St Luke originally a township in this parish opened as a chapel of ease in 1879, licensed for baptisms and burials in 1884. Derbyshire Record Office reference D 3285 has deposited registers Bap 1884-1969 Mar 1904-1967 Burials 1884-1983 Banns 1911-1957, 1972-1986
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist.
Civil Registrationa[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Registration District[edit | edit source]
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Bolsover on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-302. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.