To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bolsøy Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Bolsøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Bolsøy Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Bolsø
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Bolsø
Fogderi Romsdal
Sorenskriveri Romsdal
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm at the Family History Library for Bolsøy prestegjeld (clerical district).  Contains parish registers for the parishes Bolsøy, Røvik and Kleive. Included Molde parish with Reknes kapell until 1858. Parish registers from 1759-1947. Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:
Bolsøy: 1759-1793
Bolsøy / Bolsøy: 1795-1917
Bolsøy / Kleive: 1798-1944
Bolsøy / Molde: 1798-1843
Bolsøy / Reknes hospital: 1818-1868
Bolsøy / Røvik: 1889-1966

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall 1664-1666. This census for Bolsøy clerical district includes Bolsøy and Molde and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Sogneprestens manntall 1664-1666. This census for Bolsøy clerical district includes the following parishes:  Bolsøy, Holm. Vestnes, Eresfjord, Nesset, Veøy, Vistdal, Kleive, Tresfjord, and Molde. this census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Manntall 1701: This census for Veøy clerical district includes Veøy, Bolsøy, Molde, Holm, Vestnes, and Tresjford and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet(Digital Archives).
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census forBolsøy clerical district includes Bolsøy, Røvik, and Kleive; and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available in a serachable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketellingen 1845 for Bolsøy prestegjeld (Møre og Romsdal). The 1845 census for Bolsøy clerical district includes the parishes of Bolsøy, Kleive, and Røvik; and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875.The 1875 census for Bolsøy clerical district includes Bolsøy, Kleive, and Røvik and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Olafsen-Holm, Jørgen,Bolsøyboka : en natur- og samfundshistorisk skildring av Bolsøy prestegjeld, Molde : Utgitt av Bolsøyboknemnda med tilskot av Bolsøy kommune og privatfolk, l939-1976. A history of Bolsøy parish and clerical district with some genealogies. FHL 948.35/B1 H2o Contents: b. 1. Bolsøybydas natur og eldre historie / redaktør og med- arbeider overrettssakfører Jørgen Olafsen-Holm -- b. 2. Oversikt over Bolsøy herredsgårder og deres historie / Jørgen Olafsen-Holm -- b. 3. Skildringen av Bolsøy bygdene, herredet og prestegjeldet og de for skjellige sider ved samfunns- og folkelivet fram til vår egne tid / redaktør og medarbeider J. Olafsen-Holm -- b. 4. [fortsettelse av b. 3] / redaksjon Asbjørn Heggem, Ansgar Berild og Einar Berg. Farm name indexes to volumes 3 and 4 are found in the following links. File:948.35-B1 H2o V3 - BOLSOY.pdf, File:948.35-B1 H2o V4 - BOLSOY 4.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

34 Aarø indre, 32 Aarøhagen, 33 Aarøhaugen, 35 Aarøneset,

29 Berg, 29 Bergsbakken, 23 Bjørset, 17 Bolsøen,

18 Draget,

32 Eikrem, 27 Einen, 41 Ekren, 40 Ellingsgaarden, 37 Elsaas,

30 Fanbostad, 24 Finmyren, 26 Fuglset,

19 Geilen, 32 Gjerdet,

41 Hagen, 43 Hatlen, 51 Havnen, 47 Hjellset, 54 Hjælset,

21 Kringstad, 21 Kringstadvorpen, 22 Kvam,

31 Leirgrovvik, 19 Lillebostad, 46 Lillebyen, 39 Lønset,

22 Mek, 46 Mjelve, 25 Moldegaard, 50 Mork,

53 Nedrehagen, 17 Neset, 17 Nespladsen,

17 Orviken,

33 Reitan, 24 Reknes, 36 Røbæk,

42 Sigerset, 45 Skjersaa, 44 Skjerslien, 38 Smaaengene, 38 Strande, 38 Strandehagen,

39 Teigen, 20 Turhus, 28 Tøndergaard,

48 Uren, 49 Uren øde,

7 Varholmbugten,

27 Øverland, 52 Øvrehagen

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1677-1869: Probates are found in Romsdal judicial district. 1700-1816: Clerical probates are found in Romsdal Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Solemdal, Arnold: Gards- og slektshistorie for Solemdalsbygda. Utgjeven av Solemdal Velforening, Molde 1987

Solemdal, Arnold; Hovdenak, Helge: Bygdebok for Vågane. Utgjeven av Vågane ungdomslag, Molde 1992