Bolivia Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bolivia Wiki Topics
Flag of Bolivia (state).svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bolivia Background
Local Research Resources

Introduction

A census is a count and description of the population. Censuses have been taken by various levels of government in Bolivia and by some ecclesiastical officials. Census records were taken primarily for population studies, taxation, military purposes, or taxing in behalf of the parish poor. Censuses, known as censos or padrones, have been taken by colonial and national governments throughout Latin American. Most of the census records are housed in the national archives.

Records created during the Spanish administration of colonial Latin America, would be located in the Archivo General de Indias in Seville, Spain.

When available, census records can provide family relationships, age, year of birth, description of property, place of birth. Census records are especially valuable because they list a large portion of the population, and they are readily available at some repositories. They can provide information where all or portions of other records are missing. Use the information with caution, however, since the information may have been given to a census taker by any member of the family or a neighbor.

Searching Census Records[edit | edit source]

When searching census records, it is important to remember the following:

  • Accept the ages with caution.
  • Given names may not always be the same as the names recorded in vital records.
  • Information may be incorrect.
  • Names may be spelled as they sound.
  • Place names may be misspelled or spelled phonetically.
  • If the family is not at the suspected address, search the surrounding area.
  • Parts of the census may be indecipherable.

Bolivia Census Records in Census Records for Latin America and the Hispanic United States[edit | edit source]

The following table is a list of census records for the country of Bolivia, as listed in Lyman D Platt's book, Census Records for Latin America and the Hispanic United States.[1]

Province Locality Year(s) Access
All no province 1645-1686 Indios de Alto Perú, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala IX, sección 17, anaquel 1, volumen 4.
All no provice 1774-1788 Indios de Alto Perú, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala IX, sección 17, anaquel 1, volumen 5.
All Missions 1735-1802 Misiones, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala IX, sección 17, anaquel 3, volumen 6.
All Missions 1759-1800 Indios, Misiones y Varios, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala IX, sección 25, anaquel 6, volumen 3.
All Cochabamba 1683 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 1, volumen 1.
All Cochabamba 1714-1770 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 1, volumen 4.
All Cochabamba 1733-1738 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba y Mizque), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 1, volumen 5.
All Cochabamba 1771-1786 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba y Mizque), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 2, volumen 1.
Arani Cochabamba 1783-1820 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1157904 Items 4-7
Arque Cochabamba 1787-1792 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Arque y Valle Grande), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 2, volumen 3.
Arque Cochabamba 1794-1797 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Clisa y Arque), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 1.
Arque Cochabamba 1804-1808 Cochabamba (Indios de Arque, Valle Grande, Sacaba, Mizque, Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Ayopaya y Tapacari), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 4.]
Ayopaya Cochabamba 1792 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Ayopaya, y Clisa, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 2, volumen 5.
Ayopaya Cochabamba 1797-1799 Cochabamba (Indios de Ayopaya, Sacaba, Mizque, Tapacari y Valle Grande), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 2.
Ayopaya Cochabamba 1797-1799 Cochabamba (Indios de Ayopaya, Sacaba, Mizque, Tapacari y Valle Grande), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 2.
Cliza Cochabamba 1792 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Ayopaya y Clisa), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 2, volumen 4.
Cliza Cochabamba 1794-1797 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Clisa y Arque), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 1.
Cliza Cochabamba 1800-1803 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Clisa y Santa Cruz de la Sierra), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 3.
Cochabamba Cochabamba 1787-1797 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Arque y Valle Grande), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 2, volumen 3.
Cochabamba Cochabamba 1792 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Ayopaya y Clisa), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 2, volumen 4.
Cochabamba Cochabamba 1794-1797 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Clisa y Santa Cruz de la Sierra), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 3.
Cochabamba Cochabamba 1800-1803 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Clisa y Santa Cruz de la Sierra), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 3.
Cochabamba Cochabamba 1787-1792 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Arque y Valle Grande), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 2, volumen 3.
Mizque Cochabamba 1792 Cochabamba (Indios de Mizque, Valle Grande y Tapacari), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 2, volumen 5.
Mizque Cochabamba 1797-1799 Cochabamba (Indios de Ayopaya, Sacaba, Mizque, Tapacari y Valle Grande), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 2.
Mizque Cochabamba 1804-1808 Cochabamba (Indios de Arque, Valle Grande, Sacaba, Mizque, Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Ayopaya y Tapacari), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 4.
Pacca y Sacaba Cochabamba 1787 Cochabamba (Indios de Sacaba, Pacca, Santa Cruz de la Sierra y Tapacari), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 2, volumen 3.
Punata Cochabamba 1785 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142.
Sacaba Cochabamba 1804-1808 Cochabamba (Indios de Arque, Valle Grande, Sacaba, Mizque, Santa Cruz de la Sierra Ayopaya y Tapacari), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 4.
Tapacari Cochabamba 1618-1619 Cochabamba (Indios de Sacaba, Pacca, Santa Cruz de la Sierra y Tapacari), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 2, volumen 3.
Tapacari Cochabamba 1787 Cochabamba (Indios de Tapacari), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 10, volumen 4.
Valle Grande Cochabamba 1792 Cochabamba (Indios de Tapacari), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 2, volumen 5.
Valle Grande Cochabamba 1797-1799 Cochabamba (Indios de Ayopaya, Sacaba, Mizque, Tapacari y Valle Grande), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 2.
All La Paz 1579-1684 La Paz, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 2, volumen 3.
All La Paz 1602-1705 La Paz, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 2, volumen 4.
All La Paz 1681-1685 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All La Paz 1579-1684 La Paz, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 2, volumen 3.
All La Paz 1720-1726 La Paz, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 3, volumen 4.
All La Paz 1721-1724 La Paz, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 3, volumen 5.
All La Paz 1751 La Paz, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 2, volumen 3.
All La Paz 1751-1752 La Paz, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 4, volumen 2.
All La Paz 1760-1761 La Paz, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 4, volumen 3.
All La Paz 1770 La Paz, Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 4, volumen 4.
Caupolican La Paz 1786-1788 La Paz (Indios de La Paz, Larecaja, Sicasica y Caupolican), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 7, volumen 1.
Caupolican La Paz 1792-1794 La Paz (Indios Omasuyos y Caupolican), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 7, volumen 4.
Caupolican La Paz 1802-1803 La Paz (Indios de Pacajes, Caupolican, Sicasica y Chulumani), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 9, volumen 4.
Chulumani La Paz 1784-1792 La Paz (Indios de La Paz y Chulumani), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 5, volumen 3.
Chulumani La Plata 1796-1806 La Plata (Indios de La Paz y Chulumani), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 5, volumen 3.
Chulumani La Paz 1786 La Paz (Indios de Omasuyos), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 5, volumen 4.
Chulumani La Paz 1797-1798 La Paz (Indios de Pacajes), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 8, volumen 3.
Chulumani La Paz 1802-1803 La Paz (Indios de Pacajes, Caupolican, Sicasica y Chulumani), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 9, volumen 4.
Chuma Indians La Paz 1714 La Paz, Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, UMSA #63.
Chulumani Indians La Paz 1771-1780 La Paz (Indios Chulumani), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 4, volumen 5.
La Paz La Paz 1580-1620 La Paz, [Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140.
La Paz La Paz 1784-1792 La Paz (Indios de La Pay y Chulumani), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 5, volumen 3.
La Paz La Paz 1786 La Paz (Indios de Omasuyos), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 5, volumen 4.
La Paz La Paz 1786-1788 La Paz (Indios de La Paz, Larecaja, Sicasica y Caupolican), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 7, volumen 1.
La Paz La Paz 1792 La Paz (Indios de La Paz y Sicasica), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 7, volumen 3.
La Paz La Paz 1797 La Paz (Indios de Omasuyos), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 5, volumen 4.
La Paz La Paz 1786 La Paz (Indios de Omasuyos), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 5, volumen 4.
La Paz La Paz 1786 La Paz (Indios de Omasuyos), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 5, volumen 4.
La Paz La Paz 1786 La Paz (Indios de Omasuyos), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 5, volumen 4.
La Paz La Paz 1786 La Paz (Indios de Omasuyos), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 17, anaquel 5, volumen 4.
All Missions 1778-1807 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Cochabamba [Cochabamba 1800-1803 Cochabamba (Indios de Cochabamba, Clisa y Arque), Argentina Archivo General de la Nación, sala XIII, sección 18, anaquel 3, volumen 1.
Mizique Cochabamba 1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Mizique Cochabamba 1797-1799 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Mizique Cochabamba 1804-1808 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Pacca Cochabamba 1787 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141]
Punata Cochabamba 1785 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1157870 item 5
Sacaba Cochabamba 1787 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Sacaba Cochabamba 1797-1799 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Sacaba Cochabamba 1804-1808 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Tapacari Cochabamba 1618-1619 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Tapacari Cochabamba 1787 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Tapacari Cochabamba 1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Tapacari Cochabamba 1797-1799 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Tapacari Cochabamba 1804-1808 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Valle Grande Cochabamba 1787-1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Valle Grande Cochabamba 1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Valle Grande Cochabamba 1797-1799 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Valle Grande Cochabamba 1804-1808 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Caupolican La Paz 1770 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Caupolican La Paz 1786-1788 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Caupolican La Paz 1792-1794 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Chulumani La Paz 1784-1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Chulumani La Paz 1786 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Chulumani La Paz 1797-1798 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Chulumani Cochabamba 1802-1803 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Chulumani Indians Missions 1771-1780 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Chuma Missions 1714 Lyman D Platt, UMSA #63
Arani Cochabamba 1771-1786 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Arque Cochabamba 1787-1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
All Missions 1735-1802 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1759-1800 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1778-1807 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Arani Cochabamba 1771-1786 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Arque Cochabamba 1787-1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
All Missions 1735-1802 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1759-1800 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1778-1807 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Arani Cochabamba 1771-1786 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Arque Cochabamba 1787-1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
All Missions 1735-1802 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1759-1800 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1778-1807 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Arani Cochabamba 1771-1786 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Arque Cochabamba 1787-1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
All Missions 1735-1802 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1759-1800 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1778-1807 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Arani Cochabamba 1771-1786 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Arque Cochabamba 1787-1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
All Missions 1735-1802 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1759-1800 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1778-1807 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Arani Cochabamba 1771-1786 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Arque Cochabamba 1787-1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
All Missions 1735-1802 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1759-1800 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1778-1807 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Arani Cochabamba 1771-1786 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Arque Cochabamba 1787-1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
All Missions 1735-1802 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1759-1800 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
All Missions 1778-1807 [yman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 140
Arani Cochabamba 1771-1786 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Arque Cochabamba 1787-1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Punata Cochabamba 1785 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1157870, item 5
Sacaba Cochabamba 1787 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Sacaba Cochabamba 1797-1799 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Sacaba Cochabamba 1804-1808 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Tapacari Cochabamba 1618-1619 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Tapacari Cochabamba 1787 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Tapacari Cochabamba 1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Tapacari Cochabamba 1797-1799 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Tapacari Cochabamba 1804-1808 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Punata Cochabamba 1785 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1157870, item 5
Sacaba Cochabamba 1787 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Sacaba Cochabamba 1797-1799 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Sacaba Cochabamba 1804-1808 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Tapacari Cochabamba 1618-1619 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Tapacari Cochabamba 1787 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 141
Tapacari Cochabamba 1792 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Tapacari Cochabamba 1797-1799 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
Tapacari Cochabamba 1804-1808 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 142
  1. Lyman D Platt, Latin American Census Records (Salt Lake City, Utah: Instituto Genealogico e Historico Latinoamericano, 1987) 15-19.

es=Censos de Bolivia