To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bolivia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bolivia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bolivia Wiki Topics
Flag of Bolivia (state).svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bolivia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to Bolivia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Bolivia is a country in South America bordered by Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Paraguay, and Peru. It was formerly a colony of Spain. The official language is Spanish.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Bolivia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Bolivia research.

See More Research Strategies

Bolivia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Bolivia research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Bolivia Clickable Map[edit | edit source]

Tarija DepartmentChuquisaca DepartmentCochabamba DepartmentPotosí DepartmentOruro DepartmentLa Paz DepartmentPando DepartmentBeni DepartmentSanta Cruz DepartmentBolivia Map.png
About this image

Departments and Provinces[edit | edit source]

The territory of Bolivia, politically and administratively, is divided into 9 departments, 112 provinces, 339 municipalities and original indigenous peasant territories.

Departments: Provinces:
Beni
Chuquisaca
Cochabamba
La Paz
Oruro
Pando
Potosí
Santa Cruz
Tarija

More Bolivia Research Strategies[edit | edit source]

Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for the Bolivia.

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

Research Tutorials[edit | edit source]


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Bolivia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bolivia, accessed 4 May 2016.

Other Languages[edit | edit source]