To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bolivar County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bolivar County, Mississippi)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bolivar County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Rosedale, Cleveland
Organized: 9 February 1836
Parent County(s): Choctaw Cession[1]
Neighboring Counties
Chicot (AR)  • Coahoma  • Desha (AR)  • Phillips (AR)  • Sunflower  • Washington
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiBolivarCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Bolivar County.svg.png
Adoption
Bolivar Courthouse District 1, Rosedale, MS

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

This county was named for Simón Bolívar. Bolivar County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Bolivar County Courthouse District 1
801 Main Street
P.O. Box 205
Rosedale, MS 38769
Phone: 662-759-3762

Bolivar County Courthouse District 2
200 S. Court Street
P.O. Box 670
Cleveland, MS 38732
Phone: 662-846-5877

Bolivar County Website

Clerk Circuit Court in Cleveland, Mississippi, has marriage and court records.
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records.
Clerk Circuit Court in Rosedale, Mississippi, has marriage records from 1866 and court records from 1870.
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records.

Chancery and Circuit Clerks offices are in both Courthouses. Rosedale records go back about 20 years earlier than Cleveland.[3]

Bolivar County, Mississippi Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1 Nov 1912 1866 1 Nov 1912 1870 1836 1861 1810
Statewide registration started in Nov 1912 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1863, 1865 Rosedale and Cleveland – Fire in 1863, flood in 1865.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1836 Bolivar County was created 9 February 1836 from the Choctaw Cession.
  • County seat: Cleveland, Rosedale[5]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Ghost towns

‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bolivar County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Bolivar County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Bolivar County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Chicot CountyDesha CountyPhillips CountyCoahoma CountySunflower CountyWashington CountyMS BOLIVAR.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Bolivar County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bolivar County:

- 1st Battalion, Mississippi Cavalry (Miller's)
Company A - Mississippi Rifles
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company H - Bolivar Troop

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Bolivar County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Bolivar County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Marriage books 4 and 13 are missing from the Family History Library collection. In addition, marriage books 5, 6, 20, 24, and 25 (first series) were apparently skipped when the IGI was created.

The second series of marriage books include both white and colored marriages:

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Bolivar County Historical Society
    1615 Terrace Road
    Cleveland, MS 38732
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Bolivar, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bolivar_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bolivar County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Bolivar County, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bolivar_County,_Mississippi, Last accessed 3 September 2019.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.