Bogense City Parish, Odense, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Odense County
Bogense City

Guide to Bogense City, Odense, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

Until January 1, 2007, Bogense municipality was a municipality in Funen County on the north coast of the island of Funen in central Denmark. The municipality included a number of small islands in the Kattegat (Dræet Ø, Æbelø) off its northwest coast. The main town and the site of its municipal council was the town of Bogense.
Bogense municipality ceased to exist as the result of The Municipality Reform of 2007, merging with former Søndersø and Otterup municipalities to form the new Nordfyn municipality. The new municipality belongs to the South Denmark Region.
It was originally planned that the new entity should have continued the name Bogense but this decision was overturned by a local referendum in June 2006. This result was later approved by the Danish Interior Minister.
[1]

Bogense City Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Fyens Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Bogense Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Odense
Herred (district) Add here
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 3/151
Gods (estate) Bogense Byret; Skovby Herredsret; Notarius publicus; Odense Herredsret


Place Names


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Odense County: Nørre Sandager, Skovby

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Odense Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Denmark, Odense" and then select your parish.


References