Boeslunde Parish, Sorø, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Sorø County
Boeslunde

History

Boeslunde suffered a fire on 20 April 1892. Unforunately, the priest had not kept a kontraministerial account until 1826. There are no parish records before this date.

Boeslunde Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), Roskilde (1922-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Boeslunde
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Korsør
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Sorø
Herred (district) Slagelse
Kommune (municipality) Boeslunde
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 20
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 83
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 2/309
Gods (estate) Vartov hospitals gods; Holsteinborg grevskab; Borreby gods; Espegård gods; Universitetets gods; Rosenfelt gods; Gjerdrup gods; Lyngbygård gods;


Place Names:

Apager, Apagerhus, Attekøb, Atterup,

Boeslunde, Boeslunde Mark, Boeslunde, Lb., boslunde, Bonderup Huse, Borreby Dyrehave, Bøgebjærg, Vester, Lb., Bøgebjærg, Øster, Lb.,

Dalholm, Dyrehavehus, Dyrehaven,

Egerup, Egerup, Lb., Eskilstrup Huse, Eskilstrup Overdrev, Espe, Espe, Hgd.,

Gryderup, Gryderup, Lb., Græsvænge, Græsvængehuset,

Hesselbjerg,

Jægerhus,

Korsvejgaarden,

Langebjærghuset, Langelinie, Lerbæk, Lille Egede, Lindeskov, Lindeskov, Gd., Hse. Longen, Lunghuse,

Neble, Neble Lyng, Neble, Lb.,

Rennebjerg, Rovbjerg,

Svanehøj, Sønderup skole, Sønderupsønder,

Tinghuse, Torpe, Torpe, Lb., Tranderup, Tranderup Mark, Tranderup, Lb., Troldehoved,

Vester Bøgebjerg,

Øster Bøgebjerg

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Sorø County: Agersø, Eggeslevmagle, Fårdrup, Hemmeshøj, Korsør, Lundforlund, Skælskør, Tårnborg, Vemmelev

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Sorø Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Denmark, Sorø" and then select your parish.


References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
Stednavnebase,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.3, Sorø Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1921