Bodmin, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cornwall
Cornwall Parishes
Bodmin

Guide to Bodmin, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bodmin, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Trigg
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Bodmin
Registration District Bodmin
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Minor
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History

BODMIN (St. Petrock), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Trigg, E. division of Cornwall. There are places of worship for Bryanites, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, and Wesleyans.[1]

Neighboring Parishes

Parishes either adjoining or nearby include Lanivet, St Mabyn, Helland, Blisland, Cardinham, Temple, Warleggan, St Winnow, Lanlivery, Lostwithiel, Withiel, and Lanhydrock.  All of these parishes, in addition to a few others, have been part of the Bodmin Registration District at one time, although not all are presently part of the district at this time.

Because Bodmin was the administrative center of this part of Cornwall and the seat of the Bodmin Registration District (for civil registration), as well as the largest town in this area, many people who had moved to other parts of the UK or emigrated to other countries often named Bodmin as their birth place. That obviously has implications for the genealogy researcher, as one may find records that report Bodmin as the birth place of the person sought, when in reality the birth and/or christening may have occured in one of the other parishes or villages nearby, and the record of these events will not be found in the Bodmin parish records. 

There are also parts of the Bodmin parish or borough, where the people living there have traditionally attended and had the events such as christening, marriage, and burial performed in a different parish.  For example those living at Margate, Turfdown, Sunny Bank, and Fletchers Bridge, although part of Bodmin, attended church and received those events at the Cardinham parish church.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Bodmin is part of the Bodmin civil registration district which includes a number of surrounding parishes.

Church records

Bodmin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerk - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cornwall Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Cornwall Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Bodmin Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2010
1538-2010
1538-2010
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1916
1538-1839
1538-1928
TGEN 1540-1800s
1537-1800s


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

The Bodmin section of the OPC website contains many records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Bodmin in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 290-295. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk