Boarstall, Buckinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Boarstall, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Bicester; Thame|
|Registration District||Bicester; Thame|
|Parish registers: 1640|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1575|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BOARSTALL, or Borstall, a parish in the district of Bicester, and county of Bucks; in Bernwood forest, on the verge of the county, 6 miles SSE of Bicester r. station.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Boarstall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Buckinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|ANC = Ancestry - ($)|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free|
|Boarstall Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||1640-1888||1640-1888||1640-1888|
|FS Catalog BTs||1575-1839||1575-1839||1575-1839|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Boarstall on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date Accessed and adapted 4 January 2019.