Blount County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Alabama
Blount County

Guide to Blount County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Blount County, Alabama
Map
Map of Alabama highlighting Blount County
Location in the state of Alabama
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 6, 1818
County Seat Oneonta
Courthouse
Address Blount County Courthouse
220 Second Avenue East
Oneonta, AL 35121
Phone:(205) 625-4153
County Website


County Information

Blount County, Alabama Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1820 1820 1818 1829

County Courthouse

Blount County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Blount County Courthouse
220 Second Avenue East,
Oneonta, AL 35121
Phone:(205) 625-4153

County Archivist has probate records from 1824,
 marriage, land and burial records from 1820.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.[2]

Description

The County was named for Gov. Willie G. Blount of Tennessee, who provided assistance to settlers in Alabama during the Creek War of 1813-14. The County has Blountsville as its seat and the County was created February 6, 1818. [3]The County is located in the central area of the state.[4]

History

Parent County

1818--Blount County was created 6 February 1818 from the Cherokee Cession and Montgomery County.
County seat: Oneonta [5]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Alblount.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Biographies of many notable residents of Blount County, Alabama Genealogy were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 499.

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Blount, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Blount county cemeteries.

  • Ivison, Hazle R. Collins. Index to Alabama Cemeteries: Blount County, Coosa County, St. Clair County, Talladega County, Winston County. n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online -

Census

For tips on accessing Blount County, Alabama Genealogy census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Historical populations
Year Pop.  %±
1820 2,415
1830 4,233 75.3%
1840 5,570 31.6%
1850 7,367 32.3%
1860 10,865 47.5%
1870 9,945 −8.5%
1880 15,369 54.5%
1890 21,927 42.7%
1900 23,119 5.4%
1910 21,456 −7.2%
1920 25,538 19.0%
1930 28,020 9.7%
1940 29,490 5.2%
1950 28,975 −1.7%
1960 25,449 −12.2%
1970 26,853 5.5%
1980 36,459 35.8%
1990 39,248 7.6%
2000 51,024 30.0%
2010 57,322 12.3%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960

State Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Blount County, Alabama Genealogy see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Blount County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.172 E7b.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Blount County, Alabama Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Northern Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Smith and De Land, 1888. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Blount County, Alabama Genealogy begins on page 108.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Blount County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Blount County.

- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B (Blount Continentals)
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K (Blount Guards)
- 28th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B and C.
- 29th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B " Blount County Hornets"
- 29th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C " Avalanche Company"
- 29th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "The Phil Weaver Guards"
- 29th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "The Blount County Tiger Boys"
- 48th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and F
- 50th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D, formerly Company E, 2nd Battalion
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H (formerly Co. "I", 1st AL, TN, and MS Infantry)

Online Records

Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Blount County, Alabama Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Jones, Melvin. Index and Excerpts Taken from Blount County Alabama Newspapers 1879-1907. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Blount County, Alabama Genealogy Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Blount County, Alabama Genealogy Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

  • 1830-1976 - Blount County, Alabama Genealogy Probate Records, 1830-1976 at FamilySearch - free.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Blount County is in District 3.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1820–1844; 1857–1879 Marriages by Groom at ALGenWebIndex to Marriages] at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1819–1844, 1852–1888, 1932, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1820–1888 "Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Blount County has one book.


Societies and Libraries

North Central Alabama Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 13
Cullman, AL
35056-0013
Publication: Alabama Family History and Genealogy News

Northeast Alabama Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 8268
Gadsden, AL
35902
Publication Northeast Alabama Settlers
Website

Bloutsville Public Library
205-429-3156
Website

Blount County Archives
P. O. Box 45
Oneonta, AL
35121 205-625-6868x3118

Blount County Historical Society & Museum
P. O. Box 45
Oneonta, AL
35121

Blountsville Historical Society website
P. O. Box 231
71406 N. Main Street
Blountsville, AL
35031
205-429-2468


Family History Center

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

    • Locust Fork, Alabama

Family History Centre Locator

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 13-28. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 35.
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Blount County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/blount/ 05/29/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Blount, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blount_County,_Alabama 05/29/2017.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.