To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bloomsbury St George, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bloomsbury St George

Guide to Bloomsbury St George, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bloomsbury St George, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union St Giles in the Fields; St George Bloomsbury
Registration District St Giles
Records begin
Parish registers: 1730
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

'BLOOMSBURY, or St. George-Bloomsbury, was a parish, which in the 19th century was also a subdistrict, in the district of St. Giles, Middlesex. It lay about 1.25 of a mile west by northwest St. Paul Cathedral, London. According to the famous topographer, Samuel Lewis, St George-Bloomsbury lay originally in a part of St. Giles-in-the-Fields parish, but was consecrated a parish by 1729.

Christ Church in Woburn Square was built in the year 1833. In 1845 the French Episcopal Chapel, in Bloomsbury Street, was built. Bedford Chapel formerly of Charlotte Street was built in 1771.

1848 parish description
St. George, Bloomsbury, is a parish in Holborn. It is adjacent to the City of London, in the hundred of Ossulstone, Middlesex. The patron is the Crown.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Bloomsbury St George parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Bloomsbury St George Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

St Giles in the Fields; St George Bloomsbury

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Bloomsbury on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk