Blewbury, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to Blewbury, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wantage|
|Registration District||Wallingford; Wantage|
|Parish registers: 1588|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1591|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
BLEWBERRY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Wantage, partly in the hundred of Moreton, but chiefly in that of Reading, county of Berks, 4½ miles (N. E. by N.) from East Ilsley, with the chapelries of Aston-Upthorp and Upton, and the liberty of Nottingham-Fee. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Blewbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - ($)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|ANC = Ancestry - ($)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Blewbury Online Parish Records|
|IGI||1588-1674, 1588-1783, 1783-1812, 1800-1886||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Particular Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Blewbury in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 282-286. Date accessed: 27 March 2013