Bleckley County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Bleckley County

Guide to Bleckley County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Cochran
Organized: July 30, 1912
Parent County(s): Pulaski[1]
Neighboring Counties
Dodge  • Houston  • Laurens  • Pulaski  • Twiggs  • Wilkinson
See County Maps
Courthouse
BLECKLEY COUNTY COURTHOUSE.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Bleckley County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Logan Edwin Bleckley and is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Bleckley County Courthouse
112 North Second St.
Cochran, GA 31014
Phone: 912-934-3200
Bleckley County Website

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate, court and land records.[3]

Bleckley County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1912 1919 1912 1912 1912 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[5]

Boundary Changes

  • 1912 Bleckley County was created 30 July 1912 from Pulaski County.
  • County seat: Cochran[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Baileys Park
  • Brown Hill
  • Cary
  • Coley
  • Frazier
  • Five Points
  • Goldsboro
  • Paulk
  • Porter
  • Powell
  • Rebie
Census-designated places

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Bleckley, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Bleckley County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Methodist Episcopal

  • 1871-1885 Methodist Episcopal Church, Cochran, Baptism Index 1871-1885. Batch C712191 at FamilySearch.[8]
  • 1871-1895 Methodist Episcopal Church, Cochran, Marriage Index 1871-1895. Batch M712191 at FamilySearch.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bleckley County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Wilkinson CountyLaurens CountyDodge CountyPulaski CountyHouston CountyTwiggs CountyGA BLECKLEY.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records


Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Bleckley County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bleckley County:

Online Records


Daughters of the American Revolution, and Virginia Speer Harris. 1957. History of Pulaski and Bleckley Counties, Georgia, 1808-1956. (see V.1 page 124-154: to view a digital version go to FHL Catalog ) FHL Collection; WorldCat


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Bleckley County Historical Society
    Middle Georgia College
    Cochran, GA 31014

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Bleckley, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bleckley_County,_Georgia." accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bleckley County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Bleckley County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bleckley_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 29 January 2019.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.